2016 Women's Cross Country Team

Toro Park Invitational

The Men and Women traveled to Salinas for the Toro Park Invitational.  The Women came out in second place behind Hartnell.  Four Women medaled in the the Top 14 for the Dons.  Jillian O'Brien was the top finisher in 8th place out of the 36 finishers.  Leslee Patino and Brenda Blanco were next across the line in 11th and 12th place with Seraiah Alexander claiming the last medal in 14th place just ahead of teammate Diana Rendler in 15th to round out the Top 5 for the Dons.  The Men finished in 4th place as a team behind Hartnell, Chabot and Clovis College in the meet with 9 entered teams.  Top finisher for the Dons was Akito Fujisawa in 15th place just missing a medal.  Iman Bayat coming off an injury from last track season ran in his first competition in 6th months to be next across the line in 20th overall place out of the 57 finishers.  Just behind Bayat was Ryan Menees in 22nd place.  Oscar Tamayo and Tyler Stowell finished in 29th and 30th overall to be in the scoring mix for the Dons.  The Dons will next be in action at Shasta College in Redding on Friday for the NorCal Preview Meet.

Lou Vasquez Invitational

In a rare Thursday Meet the Dons traveled to San Francisco to compete in the Lou Vasquez Invitational.  The Ladies took the team Championship for the second straight week in their meet beating American River College who had beaten them 2 weeks earlier.  The Dons were led by Jillian O'Brien who finished in 3rd place overall out of the 40 runners in the race.  Leslee Patino, Diana Rendler and Seraiah Alexander all also finished in the Top 14 to earn t-shirts for their performances as they finished in 7th 11th and 12th respectively.  Rebecca Collins finished in 16th place overall to make up the scoring team for De Anza.  The Men finished in 4th place out of the 14 teams with runners in the race.  Akito Fujisawa once again led the team with a 20th place finish out of the 80 runners to complete the course.  Oscar Tamayo was 24th close behind.  Edwyn Castillo with his best race of the season was next across for the Dons in 33rd place.  Hideshi Izu and Tyler Stowell finished out the top five for the Dons in 35th and 39th places.  The Dons will next be at Hartnell College to run the Toro Park Invitational in Salinas. 

This is the official De Anza College Athletics website. Any other website containing information regarding De Anza Athletics is not sanctioned by De Anza College and may not contain accurate information.

Head Coach

Nick Mattis

Nick Mattis
Head Cross Country Coach




PE 670

Back to Top