Budget Information

Budget Information

Great Things Are Happening! - Mar. 12, 2012



First, there's little to report on the state budget front. We have had great success in the last couple of weeks in explaining the damage of the "February Surprise" is having on our colleges. Unfortunately, the state's overall budget situation makes obtaining a backfill problematic at this time, and any backfill decision will likely be made when the budget is finalized in June. In great news, however, the Assembly's education budget subcommttee rejected the proposed Cal Grant cuts that would disproportionately impact community college students.

Our progress, however, cannot be defined solely by how we are doing in the state budget fight du jour. While we will continue to face cuts and then, hopefully go through a period of reinvestment, we have to be focused on things we can do to continuously improve our community colleges.

I have been fortunate over the last week to participate in three events that give me great hope about our colleges and reflect the amazing work you do, despite the challenging financial times.

Each of the three highlight amazing programs in our colleges focused on leadership development and student success, and all were organically grown from our local colleges.

I'll work backward... On Saturday night, I joined Dr. Pamila Fisher to receive the American Council on Education's State Network Award for the Asilomar Leadership Skills Seminar.

If you aren't familiar with Asilomar, it began in 1984 and is is an intensive four-day experience that focuses on the issues facing women who have made a commitment to community college administration, either in their current position or as a future goal. The League assumed sponsorship and administration of the event in 2004 and, to date, over 2,200 women have completed the seminar! This year's "class" starts tomorrow. Congratulations to Dr. Fisher and to our team, particularly Director of Meetings and Events Cherie Savage, for the award!

Previous to ACE, I was at the African American Male Education Network & Development (A2MEND, pronounced "amend") summit in Los Angeles. I remember the first summit at Coastline Community College in 2008, and can't believe how large the event has become. Hundreds were gathered at the Los Angeles Airport Marriott, and I wish I knew how to build that much passion into League conferences!

The event provides opportunity for all leaders concerned with the success of African American males to discuss best practices and share ideas on how our colleges can improve success for all economically and educationally disadvantaged students. A collateral benefit of the gathering is the opportunity for African American and other leaders of color to build a professional network and statewide leadership opportunities. Congratulations to the entire A2MEND board and, in particular, the great student participants primarily from L.A. Southwest College!

Both Asilomar and A2MEND provide opportunities for our next generation of leaders to gain important leadership opportunities and build the critical success network that our college leaders need today.

Finally, last Wednesday, the League had the pleasure of hosting the Phi Theta Kappa scholarship luncheon. This annual event brings some of California's best and brightest students to Sacramento to recognize their academic and community achievements. I have listed the recognized students below, and heartfelt congratulations go out to the students, their families, and the college faculty and staff that contribute to their success!

Actually, if you have a few minutes, I encourage you to review the great luncheon program featuring the students. In it, you will be amazed by the stories of these sixty-eight students!

2012 All-California Academic Team
listed in alphabetical order

Coca-Cola Scholars
New Century Scholar ($2,000): Amy Bartel, Mt. San Jacinto College
Gold Scholar ($1,500): Minjeong Koh, Irvine Valley College
Gold Scholar ($1,500): Duy Le, Santa Ana College
Gold Scholar ($1,500): Abdullah Nejati, San Diego Miramar College
Silver Scholar ($1,250): Cody Jackson, Folsom Lake College
Silver Scholar ($1,250): Ronald Moss, Merritt College
Bronze Scholar ($1,000): Matthew Pinkerton-Lloyd, Solano Community College

1st Team

  • Amy Bartel, Mt. San Jacinto College
  • Shaina Breger, Las Positas College
  • Laurie Covarrubias, Mt. San Antonio College
  • Phillip Duncan, Porterville College
  • Samuel Fall, Mt. San Jacinto College
  • Deborah Gartside, Sacramento City College
  • Joshwin Greene, Fresno City College
  • Cody Jackson, Folsom Lake College
  • Minjeong Koh, Irvine Valley College
  • Duy Le, Santa Ana College
  • Laura Levin, Moorpark College
  • Min Liang, Rio Hondo College
  • Ronald Moss, Merritt College
  • Abdullah Nejati, San Diego Miramar College
  • Paulina Pineda, Severiano Southwestern College
  • Matthew Pinkerton-Lloyd, Solano Community College
  • Robin Rivera, Las Positas College
  • Maral Sakayan, College of the Canyons
  • Nicholas Simcox, Butte College
  • Denice Grace Sy, Skyline College
  • Viviana Vasiu, Cuyamaca College
  • Emmeline Wong, College of San Mateo

2nd Team

  • Jose Alfaro, Cosumnes River College
  • Breeanna Bergeron-Matsumoto, Irvine Valley College
  • Joshua Butler, Porterville College
  • Lori Davis, College of Marin
  • Nicole Gonzalez, Cerritos College
  • Susannah Grier, Napa Valley College
  • Jiaxing Gu, Solano Community College
  • Heidi Hansen, Skyline College
  • Andrew Hanson, Santa Ana College
  • Abdirisak Hussein, San Diego Mesa College
  • Caleb Kenney, College of San Mateo
  • Kristen Leckie, Fullerton College
  • Stacie Macias, Mt. San Jacinto College
  • Paul Martinez-Everett, Napa Valley College
  • Andrew Meyer, Long Beach City College
  • Anna Moschitto, Cerro Coso Community College
  • Jacqueline Prescott-Frazier, Napa Valley College
  • Celena Robinson, MiraCosta College
  • Cristal Rosales, Rio Hondo College
  • Katie Schneider, Folsom Lake College
  • Tammy Schwinegruber, San Diego Mesa College
  • Chaitali Wagh, Diablo Valley College

3rd Team

  • Deardra Benjamin, Merritt College
  • Raemond Bergstrom-Wood, College of Marin
  • Shawn Besharaty, Los Angeles Valley College
  • Vanessa Burrows, Butte College
  • Jonnalyn Denny, Shasta College
  • Michelle Dranovsky, San Diego Miramar College
  • Isel Estrada, Southwestern Community College
  • Eduard Grigoryan, Los Angeles Valley College
  • Shannon Harvey, Diablo Valley College
  • Keli Jamesm, Cosumnes River College
  • Tammy Kinnan, Cerro Coso Community College
  • Panagiotis Kloutsiniotis, Citrus College
  • Anthony Lee, College of the Desert
  • Amber Macaulay, Oxnard College
  • Jodi Miller, College of the Desert
  • Thomas Morrissey, Mt. San Jacinto College
  • Ryan Nazarian, West Los Angeles College
  • Jack Noftsger, College of the Desert
  • Noah Prado, Shasta College
  • Hirbod Rahimi, Mt. San Antonio College
  • Victoria Sanchez, Fullerton College
  • Andrea Sansom, Citrus College
  • Bridget Tatevossian, College of the Canyons
  • Ruth Welland, Sacramento City College


Community College League of California
2017 O Street, Sacramento, California 95811
916.444.8641 . www.ccleague.org

Budget Information
email Email:
Pippa Gibson
Phone: 408.864.8936

Last Updated: 3/16/12