The De Anza Academic Senate

Approved Notes for the meeting of June, 14th, 2010

<u>Senators and Officers present:</u> Anderson, Argyriou, Beckum, Botsford, Cordero, Glapion, Goodwin, Guevara, Hanna, Kragalott, Larson, Lathers, Lee-Klawender, Maynard, McNamara, Mjelde, Nickel, Norte, Setziol, Singh, Stockwell, and Swanner

Senators and Officers absent: Annen, Brennan, Chang, Nengo, Schaffer, and Tao

District Senate President:

DASB: Classified Senate:

Administrative Liaison: Rich Schroeder Guests: Susanne Chan, Pauline

Wethington, José Romero, and Isis Beckum

SLO coordinators/Staff Development: Curriculum Co Chair: Anu Khanna

[NOTE: Item numbers are reflective of agenda numbers in the order they are actually taken up at the meeting.]

The meeting was called to order at 2:35 a quorum being present.

- **I. Approval of Agenda and Notes:** The agenda was approved as distributed. The draft notes of June 7th were approved with minor editing. Maynard requested an urgent item about printing budget problems and was promised an agenda item June 21st.
- **II. Needs and Confirmations:** There were no confirmations. Lee-Klawender told the group that a new vacancy on the IPBT and another potential vacancy will mean confirmation action June 21st.
- III. Senate Election Results: Maynard announced the results of the voting June 9th and 10th. Both President and Vice President races were unprecedented, one for narrow margin of victory and the other for having three candidates. In addition, the turnout was very high. For President, Gregory Anderson was victorious with a vote of 108 to 100 for Dan Mitchell. The three way race for the Vice President position resulted in the need for the first ever run-off election. Coleen Lee-Wheat and Cynthia Lee-Klawender will be on the run-off. The Executive Committee agreed to holding the run off June 16th and 17th with mostly the same Senators supervising the polling station at the same times as on June 9th and 10th.
- **IV. SSPBT Reorganization:** The group reviewed and discussed a proposal coming from the SSPBT to change the membership of that group and to designate

that the non administrator co chair could be anyone from the SSPBT as opposed to the current requirement that the person be a faculty member. Nickel presented a document which was a response and a counterproposal. There were also several explanations of the history and empowerment of the SSPBT and why that group was not empowered to reorganize itself. It was pointed out that President Murphy and the Academic Senate needed to consider the proposals on their own merit and then take action. The issue will not be resolved until the Fall.

V. SSPBT Faculty Co Chair: The item was postponed until the June 21st meeting

VI. Student Resolution on Arizona SB 1070: Student José Romero presented a draft proposal for a resolution opposing the Arizona law and supporting a potential District boycott of Arizona and Arizona entities. There was considerable and serious discussion. Multiple statements were made in opposition and in support of all or parts of the proposal. Given that the proposal is for a resolution, the discussion was a first reading with the Senators being asked to come back with comments from their division faculty.

VII. General Education Review Process. The item was held over to the first meeting of Fall 2010.

VIII. By Law Change for Senate Elections. Argyriou spoke to a previously distributed draft of By Laws including proposed changes. One of the suggested changes included several options. After succinct discussion it was MSCU (Hanna/Cordero) to approve the By-Law changes and taking the "in May" option for the time period portion of the language. The changes will enable the group to consider new means of voting including electronic voting of some kind.

IX. IPBT Report: The IPBT had not met since the June 7th Senate meeting.

X. Senate President's Report: Argyriou thanked the group for a good two years as President of the Academic Senate and said she learned a great deal and was proud of the group and its discussions. She also promised to stay involved in multiple Senate related activities.

XI. Wrap Up.

XII. Good of the Order and Announcements: Goodwin has been appointed to the AAUP national Committee on Contingency. Lee-Klawender presented Argyriou with a gift and the well wishes of the Executive Committee. A hearty round of applause ensued.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 to the annual reception for new faculty.	ly tenured