Program History

In 2000, Coach Mike Gervasoni led the initial women's badminton team at De Anza to a 6-1 record as State Runner-up, losing 11-10 to San Diego Mesa in the first-ever State Championships at Irvine Valley College.  In the individual championships, De Anza's Ann Kim prevailed 11-9, 11-7 over Bonnie Chan of CCSF for the singles championship and De Anza's Ann Kim and Natalie Woo defeated Pasadena City College's #1 Cheryl Zhuang/Frances Ho, 12-15, 15-5, 15-3 for the doubles championship.

In 2001, Christine Lee and Diana Chuang qualified for singles at the State Championships with Diana advancing to the semifinals and the doubles team of Diana Chuang/Christine Lee also qualified and advanced to the semifinals.

In 2002 , Ines Leong and Ruby Mark qualified for the State Championships singles event, with Ruby advancing to the quarterfinals.  Leong and Mark qualified in doubles as well, where they partnered to advance to the round of 16. 

In 2003, De Anza suffered its only loss of the season in the State Championship match, losing 18-3 to Irvine Valley College.  Erica Lin advanced to the semifinals and the team of Lin and Liz Nguyen finished second in doubles.

In 2009, the badminton program returned to action and finished tied for fourth in the Coast Conference.  The doubles team of Ayu Hasegawa and Diem Pham advanced to the round of 16 in the state championships.

In 2010, the program lost only to NorCal & State Champion CCSF and SoCal champion Pasadena City College, finishing third in the state and second in the Coast Conference.  Praadnya Shah and Olga Leykova qualified for the singles in the state championships, with Shah advancing to the consolation final, while in doubles, Shah/Leykova advanced to the quarterfinals and Diem Pham and Shannon Chang advanced to the consolation semifinals.


Goofy and Grandma

 Olga Lykova and Praadnya Shah -- Doubles 3rd Place!

Olga Lykova -- Singles 3rd Place!

Coast Conference 2011 Champion -- Praadnya Shah -- Coast Conference Player of the Year!

Back to Top