# MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING

Tuesday, July 13, 1999 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

# **Student Council Chambers**

## Call to Order

Sharla Stevens called the meeting to order at 3:30 pm.

## **Roll Call**

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Christopher Aguirre		X		
Gursharan Badesha	X			
Gurjit Bhangoo	X			
Ninad Bhave	X			
Khoi Bui		X		
David Choi	X			
Huy Diep		X		
Sarah Doty	X			
Lily Duong	X			
Geraldine Garcia	X			
Shilpi Gupta		X		
Adrienne Hypolite	X			
Peter Kim		X		
Stephanie Lagos	X			
Les Leonardo	X			
Lydia Lescalleet	X			
Ingrid Medina		X		
Golnaz Moeini		X		
Janna Mordan	X			
Maria Muñoz	X		3:37	
			pm	
Jean Newman	X		3:41	
			pm	
Andrew Perry	X			
Maria Pugnetti		X		
Jaskaran Sandhu		X		
Sharla Stevens	X			
Aron Tager	X			
Divyakanya Talajia	X X X			
Sepand Tehrani	X			
John Tsai	X			
Christopher Zand	X			

**Swearing in of the 1999-2000 DASB Senate Members** 

#### **Approval of Agenda**

July 13, 1999

#### Changes to agenda:

- 1. Strike Out Action Item #3 "To Decide the meeting times for Executive Committee" from the agenda.
- 2. Strike out Action Item #2 and discuss all committee appointments during Action Item #1.
- 3. Add action item under new business regarding senate approval for the Administration committee to revise the DASB Bylaws. Presenter: Adrienne Hypolite.
- 4. Add action item under new business to discuss the formation of a retreat committee.

Agenda approved

# **Approval of Minutes**

No minutes to approve

#### **Public Comments**

Dean Edwards raised his concerns about the credit card companies and banks on campus.

La Donna Yumori-Kaku asked for Counseling 100 volunteers and volunteers for activities with Japanese student visitors (see attached).

#### **Consent Calendar**

Leave of absence for Sarah Doty from July 21 for 30 days

Approved

Leave of absence for Divyakanya Talajia 8/9 - 9/16

Approved

Leave of absence for Christopher Zand 8/10 - 8/17

Approved

#### **Business Reports**

• Internal Committee

John Cognetta made a report to the senate (see attached).

- Internal Ad Hoc Committee
- External Committee

#### **Old Business**

Action Item #1

Time Limit: 10 minutes

To approve Student Accounts to carry forward the balances of the following accounts:

		Estimated Balance
Account #	Account Name	June 30, 1999
611310	Accounts Office Staff	\$4,700.00
611320	Accounts Office Supplies	\$2,086.54
611330	Accounts Office System	\$1,459.32

612127	Student Accounts Staff	\$2,700.00
851905	CF-Student Accounts Supplies	\$1,270.11
851906	CF-Student Accounts System	\$122.75
871002	CF-RFP98-Accounts/Activities Network Wiring	\$2,000.00
871902	CF-DASB Senate & Students Accounts	\$5,968.62
880002	RFP-Student Accounts Software	\$2,200.45
890002	RFP-Student Accounts Software	\$1,394.74

Presenter: John Cognetta, DASB Advisor

David Choi moved to approve the Student Accounts carry forward of these accounts. Divyakanya Talajia Seconded.

Roll Call V	ote	
Name	Yes	No
Christopher Aguirre	Ab	
Gursharan Badesha	X	
Gurjit Bhangoo	X	
Ninad Bhave	X	
Khoi Bui	Ab	
David Choi	X	
Huy Diep	Ab	
Sarah Doty	X	
Lily Duong	X	
Geraldine Garcia	X	
Shilpi Gupta	Ab	
Adrienne Hypolite	X	
Peter Kim	Ab	
Stephanie Lagos	X	
Les Leonardo	X	
Lydia Lescalleet	X	
Ingrid Medina	Ab	
Golnaz Moeini	Ab	
Janna Mordan	X	
Maria Muñoz	X	
Jean Newman	X	
Andrew Perry	X	
Maria Pugnetti	Ab	
Jaskaran Sandhu	Ab	
Sharla Stevens	N/A	
Aron Tager	X	
Divyakanya Talajia	X	
Sepand Tehrani	X	
John Tsai	X	

Christopher Zand	X	
------------------	---	--

**Motion Passes** 

#### **New Business**

Action Item #1

Time Limit: 20 minutes

To discuss internal committee seats, duties of committees, and application process.

Presenter: Sharla Stevens, DASB President

Sarah Doty moved to appoint the Lydia Lescalleet, Janna Mordan, Christopher Aguirre, and Geraldine Garcia to the Finance Committee.

Janna Mordan Seconded.

Jean Newman Moved to End Debate Andrew Perry Seconded Approved

Hand Vote on Main Motion In Favor 9 Opposed 10 Motion Dies

Jean Newman Moved to approve Lydia Lescalleet to Finance who will then select committee members with the use of applications.

Sepand Tehrani seconded.

Janna Mordan amended the motion to include Janna Mordan in the Finance Committee.

Andrew Perry Seconded.

Amendment Passes

Andrew Perry moved to end debate.

Divyakanya Talajia seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

New main motion:

To approve Lydia Lescalleet to Finance who will then select committee members with the use of applications and also approve Janna Mordan to Finance Committee.

**Motion Passes** 

Action Item #2

Time Limit: none

Senate approval for the Administration committee to revise the DASB Bylaws.

Presenter: Adrienne Hypolite, DASB Vice President of Administration

Adrienne Hypolite moved for the Senate to give permission to the Administration Committee to revise the DASB Bylaws
Divyakanya Talajia seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

Action Item #3

Time Limit: none

Discuss the formation of a retreat committee. Presenter: Christopher Zand, DASB Senator

Les Leonardo moved to form a retreat committee, members of the senate interested in joining should contact The Executive Vice President.

Lydia Lescalleet seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

# **Appreciation Period**

# **Announcements/Informational Reports**

# Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 4:50 pm.

Submitted by

Dennis Shannakian Acting DASB Secretary Approved by DASB Senate July 27, 1999