MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING Tuesday, July 27, 1999

4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Student Council Chambers

Call to Order

4:30 pm

Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Christopher Aguirre		X		
Gursharan Badesha	X			
Gurjit Bhangoo	X		5:12 pm	
Ninad Bhave		X		
Khoi Bui		X		
David Choi	X			
Huy Diep		X		
Sarah Doty		LOA		
Lily Duong	X			5:43 pm
Geraldine Garcia		X		
Shilpi Gupta		X		
Adrienne Hypolite	X			
Peter Kim		Resigned		
Stephanie Lagos	X			
Les Leonardo	X			
Lydia Lescalleet	X			
Ingrid Medina	X			
Golnaz Moeini	X			5:49 pm
Janna Mordan	X			
Maria Muñoz	X		5:05 pm	
Jean Newman	X			
Andrew Perry	X			
Maria Pugnetti	X			
Jaskaran Sandhu		X		
Sharla Stevens	X			
Aron Tager	X			
Divyakanya Talajia	X			
Sepand Tehrani	X			
John Tsai	X			5:59 pm
Christopher Zand	X			

Swearing in of 1999-2000 Senators

Approval of Agenda

Changes to the Agenda

- 1. Add prospective senators
- 2. Delete item #4 under new business.

Time Limit: 7 minutes

To discuss and vote on the removal of Peter Kim DASB VP of Programs.

Presenter: Les Leonardo, DASB Executive VP

Reason for Deletion: Peter Kim has resigned from the DASB Senate

Agenda Approved by Consensus

Approval of Minutes

June 8, 1999

David Choi moved to approve the June 8, 1999 DASB Senate Minutes.

John Tsai seconded.

Motion passes

July 13, 1999

Andrew Perry moved to approve the July 13, 1999 minutes.

Janna Mordan seconded.

Motion passes.

Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators

Chad Makaio Zichterman, first meeting Jesus Hernandez, first meeting Bill Bystricky, first meeting

Public Comments

La Donna Yumori-Kaku passed around a sign up sheet for Counseling 100 Volunteers. Nicholas Pisca, 1998-1999 DASB President, offered his help to the 1999-2000 DASB Senate.

Consent Calendar

Leave of Absence for John Tsai from August 9 to September 17.

Jean Newman moved to approve the consent calendar.

Andrew Perry seconded

Motion Passes

Business Reports

• Internal Committee

Adrienne Hypolite, VP of Administration, made a request for Administration committee members.

Lydia Lescalleet, Vice Chair of Finance, made a request for Finance committee members.

John Tsai, VP of Marketing & Communications, made a request for Marketing and Communications committee members.

Les Leonardo announced that the Executive Committee has decided to wait until the fall quarter before the selection of a new VP of Programs shall take place.

- Internal Ad Hoc Committee
- External Committee

Old Business

Action Item #1

Time Limit: 15 minutes

To discuss and approve internal committee assignments.

Presenter: Committee Chairs

John Tsai moved to approve Christopher Zand and Divyakanya Talajia to the Marketing and Communications Committee.

Janna Mordan seconded.

Motion Passes

Lydia Lescalleet moved to approve David Choi and Geraldine Garcia to the Finance Committee. John Tsai seconded.

Motion Passes

Jean Newman moved to approve David Choi, Stephanie Lagos, Sepand Tehrani, and Gursharan Badesha to the Student Rights and Services Committee.

Andrew Perry seconded.

Motion Passes

Adrienne Hypolite moved to approve Andrew Perry to the Administration Committee. Lydia Lescalleet seconded.

Les Leonardo announced that Christopher Aguirre, Stephanie Lagos, Lydia Lescalleet, and Christopher Zand have joined the DASB Retreat Committee.

New Business

Action Item #1

Time Limit: 30 minutes

To discuss the SmartCard committee, payment plan, Open Media Lab, and contract information. Presenter: Les Leonardo, DASB Executive VP; Judy Mowry; and Students for Justice

Andrew Perry moved to allow only DASB Members the use of the DASB Computers in the Open Media Lab. Seconded by Senate.

Andrew Perry moved to end debate John Tsai seconded. Motion Passes

Vote on Main Motion Motion Passes

Action Item #2

Time Limit: 7 minutes

To discuss and vote on the removal of Khoi Bui DASB Senator.

Presenter: Les Leonardo, DASB Executive VP

Aron Tager moved to remove Khoi Bui from the DASB Senate. Lydia Lescalleet seconded.

Roll Call Vote				
Name	Vote	Absent		
Christopher Aguirre		X		
Gursharan Badesha	Y			
Gurjit Bhangoo	Y			
Ninad Bhave		X		
Khoi Bui		X		
David Choi	Y			
Huy Diep		X		
Sarah Doty		X		
Lily Duong	Y			
Geraldine Garcia		X		
Shilpi Gupta		X		
Adrienne Hypolite	Y			
Peter Kim		X		
Stephanie Lagos	Y			
Les Leonardo	Y			
Lydia Lescalleet	Y			
Ingrid Medina	Y			
Golnaz Moeini				
Janna Mordan	Y			
Maria Muñoz	Y			

Jean Newman	Y	
Andrew Perry	Y	
Maria Pugnetti	Y	
Jaskaran Sandhu		X
Sharla Stevens		
Aron Tager	Y	
Divyakanya Talajia	Y	
Sepand Tehrani	Y	
John Tsai	Y	
Christopher Zand	Y	

Motion Passes

Action Item #3

Time Limit: 7 minutes

To discuss and vote on the removal of Huy Diep DASB Senator.

Presenter: Les Leonardo, DASB Executive VP

Ingrid Medina moved to remove Huy Diep from the DASB Senate.

David Choi seconded.

Motion Passes by Consensus.

Action Item #4

Time Limit: 7 minutes

To discuss and vote on the removal of Jaskaran Sandhu DASB Senator.

Presenter: Les Leonardo, DASB Executive VP

Aron Tager moved to remove Jaskaran Sandhu from the DASB Senate.

Divyakanya Talajia seconded.

Motion Passes by Consensus.

Action Item #5

Time Limit: 5 minutes

To discuss and approve the creation of a Leadership Scholarship Committee.

Presenter: Lydia Lescalleet, DASB Senator

Lydia Lescalleet moved to form a Leadership Scholarship Committee.

Andrew Perry seconded.

Andrew Perry moved to amend the motion to include the Administration Committee in the revising of the Leadership Scholarship Code.

Christopher Zand seconded.

Hand Vote

8 for 8 against Motion Dies

Christopher Zand move to end debate.

Ingrid Medina seconded.

Motion Passes

Vote on Main Motion Motion Passes

Action Item #6

Time Limit: 10 minutes

To discuss and approve the creation of a snack time committee.

Presenter: Lydia Lescalleet, DASB Senator

Jean Newman moved to approve a Snack Time Committee

Andrew Perry seconded.

Motion Passes

Action Item #7

Time Limit: 15 minutes

A request for the Senate to endorse San Jose Police Department accountability and to end racial

profiling.

Presenter: Les Leonardo, DASB Executive VP; and Adam Welch

Janna Mordan moved to approve the resolution and letter presented by Les Leonardo and to send the letter, after it is corrected for errors, to the law enforcement offices in Santa Clara county. (See Attached)

Andrew Perry seconded.

Hand Vote 13 for 3 against Motion Passes

Appreciation Period

Appreciation were given

Announcements/Informational Reports

Adjournment

Aron Tager moved to adjourn. Andrew Perry seconded. Motion Passes Meeting Adjourned at 6:15 pm.

Submitted by

Dennis Shannakian Acting DASB Secretary Approved by DASB Senate August 10, 1999