# MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING

Tuesday, August 10, 1999 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm Student Council Chambers

## Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 3:32 pm by Sharla Stevens, DASB President.

## Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Christopher Aguirre		LOA		
Gursharan Badesha	X			
Gurjit Bhangoo	X			
Ninad Bhave		X		
David Choi	X			
Sarah Doty		LOA		
Lily Duong		X		
Geraldine Garcia	X			
Shilpi Gupta	X		4:06 pm	
Adrienne Hypolite	X			
Stephanie Lagos		X		
Les Leonardo	X			
Lydia Lescalleet	X			
Ingrid Medina	X		3:38 pm	
Golnaz Moeini	X			
Janna Mordan	X			
Maria Muñoz	X			
Jean Newman	X			
Andrew Perry	X			
Maria Pugnetti	X			
Sharla Stevens	X			
Aron Tager		X		
Divyakanya Talajia		LOA		
Sepand Tehrani	X		4:04 pm	
John Tsai		LOA		
Christopher Zand		LOA		

# **Swearing in of 1999-2000 Senators**

## **Approval of Agenda**

## Additions

1. Under New Business: Shiloh Ballard presents a resolution in opposition to the World Trade Organization (WTO).

- 2. Under New Business: Appoint Nicholas Pisca as agent to the Board of Trustees.
- 3. Under Consent Calendar: Leave of Absence from 8/20 to 9/5 for Maria Muñoz
- 4. Under New Business: Senate Applications' Questionnaires
- 5. Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators

Agenda Approved

## **Approval of Minutes**

July 27, 1999

David Choi moved to approve the July 27,1999 DASB Senate Minutes Golnaz Moeini seconded Motion Passes

#### **Public Comments**

David Choi voiced his disapproval of the resolution passed at the last senate meeting regarding law enforcement.

La Donna Yumori-Kaku asked for volunteers to be Counseling 100 Student Assistants.

### **Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators**

Chad Makaio Zichterman, second meeting Jesus Hernandez, second meeting

#### **Consent Calendar**

Leave of Absence for Christopher Aguirre from August 5, 1999 to August 21, 1999.

Appoint Gurjit Bhangoo and Lily Duong to the DASB Marketing and Communications Committee.

Leave of Absence for Maria Muñoz from August 20 to September 5.

Jean Newman moved to approve the Consent Calendar Lydia Lescalleet seconded Motion Passes

#### **Business Reports**

• Internal Committee

Student Rights and Services will have a short meeting before the next Senate meeting at 4:00 pm for anyone interested in the committee.

Administration needs more members, there will be a short meeting after this senate meeting for those interested in the committee.

- Internal Ad Hoc Committee
- External Committee

Sharla Stevens informed the senate of the SmartCard Committee and put out a request for senators to join and remain steady members to the committee.

#### **Old Business**

Action Item #1

Time Limit: 5 minutes

To approve the correct amount of \$5,900 to be carried forward for the Environmental Studies

Area from the 1998-1999 to 1999-2000 fiscal year.

Presenter: John Cognetta, DASB Advisor

Janna Mordan moved to approve the carry forward for the Environmental Studies Area at \$5,900 from the 1998-1999 to the 1999-2000 fiscal year.

Jean Newman seconded.

Les Leonardo moved to vote on this item as an Urgent Action Item.

Golnaz Moeini seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

Vote on Main Motion as Urgent Action

Roll Call Vote				
Name	Vote	Absent		
Christopher Aguirre		X		
Gursharan Badesha	Y			
Gurjit Bhangoo	Y			
Ninad Bhave		X		
David Choi	Y			
Sarah Doty		X		
Lily Duong		X		
Geraldine Garcia	Y			
Shilpi Gupta		X		
Adrienne Hypolite	Y			
Stephanie Lagos		X		
Les Leonardo	Y			
Lydia Lescalleet	Y			
Ingrid Medina	Y			
Golnaz Moeini	Y			
Janna Mordan	Y			
Maria Muñoz	Y			
Jean Newman	Y			
Andrew Perry	A			
Maria Pugnetti	Y			
Sharla Stevens				
Aron Tager		X		
Divyakanya Talajia		X		
Sepand Tehrani		X		
John Tsai		X		
Christopher Zand		X		

**Motion Passes** 

#### **New Business**

Information/Discussion Item #1

Time Limit: 15 minutes

To present ground rules for DASB Senate meetings and repercussions for when they are not

followed.

Presenter: Sharla Stevens, DASB President

Sharla Stevens passed out a set of ground rules to the senate (See Attached)

Discussion/Action Item #2

Time Limit: 10 minutes

To establish a fifteen minute break during DASB Senate meetings.

Presenter: Lydia Lescalleet, DASB Senator

Jean Newman moved to have a ten minute break in the DASB Senate meetings after one hour.

Janna Mordan seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

Information Item #3

Time Limit: 10 minutes

To inform the DASB Senate of the Leadership Scholarship Committee and put out a request for

members.

Presenter: Lydia Lescalleet, DASB Senator

Lydia Lescalleet presented more information on the Leadership Scholarship Committee and requested that senators interested in joining should contact her.

Action Item #4

Time Limit: 10 minutes

To form and appoint members to the DASB Scholarship/Bookgrant Committee.

Presenter: David Choi, DASB Senator

Jean Newman moved to form a Scholarship Bookgrant Committee with David Choi as Chair.

Sepand Tehrani seconded

Andrew Perry moved to end Discussion

Lydia Lescalleet seconded

**Motion Dies** 

Geraldine Garcia moved to extend time by ten minutes

Les Leonardo seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

Jean Newman moved to end debate.

Andrew Perry seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

Vote on Main Motion

**Motion Passes** 

Information Item #5

Shiloh Ballard will present a resolution in opposition to the World Trade Organization (WTO) to the DASB Senate. (See Attached)

Presenter: Janna Mordan

Janna Mordan moved to end debate.

Adrienne Hypolite seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

Action Item #6

To appoint Nicholas Pisca as agent to the Board of Trustees.

Presenter: Janna Mordan

Jean Newman moved to appoint Nicholas Pisca as Special Agent to the Board of Trustees.

Lydia Lescalleet seconded

Janna Mordan moved to end debate.

Adrienne Hypolite seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

Vote on Main Motion

**Motion Passes** 

Discussion Item #7

Discussion on what is being done with the questionnaires in the Senate Applications.

Presenter: Les Leonardo

Les moved to waive the questionnaire for prospective senators Chad Makaio Zichterman and Jesus Hernandez.

Jean Newman seconded.

**Motion Passes** 

## **Swearing in of 1999-2000 Senators**

Shilpi Gupta was sworn in to the 1999-2000 DASB Senate

## **Appreciation Period**

Appreciations were given.

# **Announcements/Informational Reports**

# Adjournment

Andrew Perry moved to adjourn. Sepand Tehrani seconded. Motion Passes Meeting adjourned at 5:09 pm

Submitted by

Dennis Shannakian Acting DASB Secretary Approved by DASB Senate September 29,1999