MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING Wednesday, September 29, 1999 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm Student Council Chambers

Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 4:30 pm by Sharla Stevens, DASB President.

Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Christopher Aguirre		Х		
Gursharan Badesha			5:00	
Gurjit Bhangoo	Х			
Ninad Bhave	Х			
David Choi	Х			
Sarah Doty	Х			
Lily Duong		Х		
Geraldine Garcia	Х			
Shilpi Gupta	Х			
Adrienne Hypolite	Х			
Stephanie Lagos	Х			
Les Leonardo	Х			
Lydia Lescalleet	Х			
Ingrid Medina	Х			
Golnaz Moeini		Х		
Janna Mordan			6:20	
Maria Muñoz			4:37	
Jean Newman	Х			
Andrew Perry			4:35	
Maria Pugnetti	Х			
Sharla Stevens	Х			
Aron Tager			4:45	
Divyakanya Talajia	Х			
Sepand Tehrani			4:36	
John Tsai	X			
Christopher Zand	Х			

Approval of Agenda

Amendments:

- 1. Under Consent Calendar: Sarah Doty made a motion to move items 3 through 8 to New Business Item #10.
- 2. Under New Business: Motion passed to move Item #5 to next week.

Agenda Approved

Approval of Minutes

Tuesday, August 24, 1999 Tuesday, August 10, 1999

Lydia Lescalleet moved to approve the August 10, 1999 and August 24, 1999 DASB Minutes as amended. Ninad Bhave seconded. Motion passed by voice vote.

Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators

Chad Makaio Zichtermen, fourth meeting. Aron Tager moved to approve Chad Zichtermen as DASB Senator. Adrienne Hypolite seconded. Motion passed by voice vote. Chad Zichtermen took oath of office as DASB Senator.

Eric White, first meeting. Jason Ferguson, first meeting. Jason Ledderhos, first meeting. Michelle Lawman, first meeting. Corinne Eding, second meeting. Sabrina Tandora, first meeting.

Public Comments

David Choi and Ingrid Medina expressed "disgust" for the Measure E presentation on September 22, 1999.

La Donna Yumori-Kaku requested volunteers for the Counseling 100 presentations.

Sepand Tehrani expressed need for further understanding of the Measure E proposition, and less concern towards hostility between administration and students.

Charles Keith presented updated information concerning Measure E. (see attached)

Nick Pisca expressed concern for lack of people in the Wellness Center.

Audience member explained lack of attendance at Wellness Center as a result of PE 70 requirement.

Consent Calendar

1. Appoint Les Leonardo, Ingrid Medina, Andrew Perry, and Chad Zichtermen to the DASB Scholarships/Bookgrant Committee.

John Tsai made motion to approve Consent Calendar as amended. Ninad Bhave seconded. Motion passed by voice vote. 2. Leave of absence for Golnaz Moeini for two weeks.

Jean Newman made motion to approve consent for one week and postpone consent for the second week.

Ingrid Medina seconded.

Motion passed by voice vote.

Business Reports

• Internal Committee

John Cognetta informed the Senate of Ron Warnock's invitation to tour the Wellness Center on any day of the week of either October 18 or October 25 at 12:30 pm. John Cognetta reminded the DASB Senate of mandatory attendance in Counseling 106.

Sarah Doty requested attendance at Finance meetings on Wednesdays at 1:30 pm.

Sarah Doty suggested that Executive retreats should be held before meetings to reduce lengthy discourse.

John Tsai informed that Marketing and Communications meetings are on Mondays at 10:30 am.

Ninad Bhave requested addition of four more members at Technology meetings.

Adrienne Hypolite requested addition of one more member at Administration meetings. See Les Leonardo concerning retreat after meeting.

- Internal Ad Hoc Committee
- External Committee

Jean Newman expressed availability of one seat on the Curriculum Committee. John Tsai expressed availability of one seat on the Diversity Advisory Council. John Tsai informed of a meeting at Cupertino's Quinlan Community Center. Contact him for further information. John Tsai expressed that the faculty wants to work better with the students.

David Choi attended ICC meeting and informed that the new Campus Center Board Representative is Adam Welch. A new club—Club of Iran—was approved.

Old Business

Urgent Action

Time Limit: Unlimited To appoint and approve members to the DASB Travel Committee. Presenter: La Donna Yumori-Kaku, Activities Advisor

Nominations made for Gursharan Badesha, Ingrid Medina, and Sepand Tehrani to become members of DASB Travel Committee. David Choi made motion to approve the appointments. Andrew Perry seconded. Motion passed by voice vote.

Item #1

Action

Item #1

Time Limit: 30 minutes To appoint and approve membership on the DASB Committees. Presenter: Les Leonardo, Executive VP

Positions available on various DASB committees. (see attached)

Decision made to presently appoint members to College Council and Campus Center Board. Appointments to other committees will be made at a later date.

College Counsel

Nominations made to appoint Geraldine Garcia, Andrew Perry, Lydia Lescalleet, Sarah Doty, and Gursharan Badesha.

Vote on nominations for College Council appointment.

Nomination	Votes
Geraldine Garcia	1
Andrew Perry	7
Lydia Lescalleet	6
Sarah Doty	2
Gursharan Badesha	0

Andrew Perry was appointed to College Council.

Campus Center Board

Nominations made to appoint Ingrid Medina, Sarah Doty, and Lydia Lescalleet. Vote on nominations for Campus Center Board appointment.

Nomination	Votes	
Ingrid Medina	6	
Sarah Doty	4	
Lydia Lescalleet	5	

Ingrid Medina was appointed to Campus Center Board.

Action

Item #2

Time Limit: 10 minutes Discuss CALSACC and appoint a CALSACC Representative. Presenter: Gagan Bhatt, De Anza Student Trustee

Gagan Bhatt presented updated information concerning the CALSACC position. (see attached) Due to lack of quorum, no action could be taken on this item. Sarah Doty made motion to postpone this item until next meeting. Sepand Tehrani seconded. Motion passed by voice vote.

5

Nominations for VP of Programs Presenter: Jean Newman, VP of Student Rights and Services

Quorum restored. Nominations made to appoint Lydia Lescalleet and Andrew Perry. Ingrid Medina moved to postpone action on this item until next meeting. Sepand Tehrani seconded. Motion passed by voice vote.

Action

Time Limit: 5 minutes Appoint and approve a DASB Representative to the ICC. Presenter: David Choi

Ingrid Medina made motion to appoint David Choi as DASB Representative to ICC. Sarah Doty seconded. Motion passed by voice vote.

Action

Time Limit: 15 minutes Bookstore workers Presenter: Les Leonardo, Executive VP.

Adam Welch gave a thorough description of concerns surrounding the situation between the student workers and the DASB Bookstore administration and presented the resolution of the bookstore employees. (see attached)

Discussion of bookstore employees' resolution ensued. Adam Welch requested amendment to the resolution.

Sarah Doty made motion to pass resolution as amended. Ingrid Medina seconded.

Jean Newman made motion to extend discussion time by ten minutes. David Choi seconded. Motion died

Main motion by Sarah Doty passed by voice vote.

Information

Time Limit: 10 minutes Discussion of Measure E. Presenter: Lydia Lescalleet

Information given concerning Measure E presentation on September 22, 1999.

Information

Time Limit: 5 minutes

Item #6

Item #4

Item #7

Item #8

Information regarding DASB Secretary interviews. Presenter: Sharla Stevens, President

Sharla Stevens introduced the new DASB Secretary to the Senate.

Action

Item #9

Time Limit: 15 minutes Discussion of office housekeeping. Presenters: Sharla Stevens, President; Adrienne Hypolite, VP of Administration

Due to lack of quorum, no action could be taken on this item.

Appreciation Period

Appreciations were given.

Announcements/Informational Reports

Announcements were made.

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 6:44 pm.

Submitted by

Joni Chao DASB Secretary Approved by DASB Senate October 6, 1999