MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING

Wednesday, September 6, 2000 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Student Council Chambers

Call to Order

3:50 pm

Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Christopher Domingo		X		
Barrington Dyer	X			
Geraldine Garcia	X			
Jaycfil Labio	X		X	
Stephanie Lagos	X			
Nancy Lee		X		
Alexandra Liu	X			
Kea Loewen	X		4:00	
Jaylyn Luan		X		
Colleen McGuire	X		X	
Vinh Nguyen	X			
Izaac Singh	X			
Saket Sood	X		X	
Scott Stern	X		X	
Svetha Swaminathan	X		·	
Melody Zarghami	X			

No quorum at start of meeting

Proceeded with approval of prospective senator Neil Parekh (third meeting) in order to achieve quorum. Neil's application was reviewed and questions were asked.

Barrington Dyer moved to approve Neil Parekh as a member of the DASB Senate.

Alexandra Liu seconded.

Motion passed unanimously.

Neil Parekh was sworn in as a DASB Senator.

Approval of Minutes

Thursday, July 20, 2000

Thursday, August 17, 2000

Geraldine Garcia moved to approve the minutes of Thursday, July 20, 2000 and Thursday, August 17, 2000.

Barrington Dyer seconded.

Motion passed unanimously.

^{*} Quorum reached with the arrival of Kea Loewen at 4:00 pm.

Consent Calendar

Public Comments

Burning Issues

Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators

Shirin Darbani - first meeting Farnaz Kermaani - second meeting Geneva Mendoza - second meeting Thao Tran - first meeting Long Dang - first meeting Janette Chavervi - second meeting

Business

1. DASB Travel Committee

Approval of members to the DASB Travel Committee.

Presenter: La Donna Yumori-Kaku

La Donna Yumori-Kaku presented information about the DASB Travel Committee and asked for people to be a part of the committee. The committee requires three DASB Senate members and three ICC members.

Svetha Swaminathan, Kea Loewen, and Izaac Singh asked to be on the Travel Committee.

Barrington Dyer moved to approve those senators to the DASB Travel Committee.

Alexandra Liu seconded.

Motion passed unanimously.

2. DASB Finance Committee

Approval of members to the DASB Finance Committee.

Presenter: Geraldine Garcia

Geraldine Garcia presented information about the DASB Finance Committee and asked for people to be a part of the committee. The committee consists of the VP of Finance, the President, and a minimum of three and maximum of five other DASB Senate members. Kea Loewen, Barrington Dyer, and Vinh Nguyen asked to be on the Finance Committee. Geraldine Garcia moved to approve those senators to the DASB Finance Committee. Barrington Dyer seconded.

Motion passed unanimously.

3. DASB Internal Committees

Formation of DASB Internal Committees.

Presenter: Stephanie Lagos

Stephanie Lagos informed the senate of the importance a forming the DASB internal committees as soon as possible. She passed out committee applications to senators that did not have them and collected all the completed applications. The internal committee appointments shall be on the Consent Calendar for the next DASB Senate meeting, which is scheduled for Wednesday, September 20, 2000.

Business Reports

- Internal Committee
 Geraldine Garcia briefly talked about the RFP and Budget process and what will now
 happen since the RFP process was removed at the last senate meeting.
- Internal Ad Hoc Committee
- External Committee
- ICC Report
- Student Trustee Report
- Advisor's Report

Announcements/Informational Reports

John Cognetta announced that there would be a reception for the retirement of Louisa Choy, Accountant for Student Accounts, on Thursday, September 28, 2000. Her last day is September 29, 2000.

La Donna Yumori-Kaku thanked all of the people who volunteered to present at the Counseling 100 classes.

Barrington Dyer informed the senate that a retreat was being planned for the second or third weekend in October. There was some deliberation in the senate and it was decided to hold the retreat on the Weekend of October 14, 2000.

Izaac Singh announced that programs wants to do an event the first week of school.

Vinh Nguyen asked about the Counseling 106 Student Leadership class. There was some deliberation in the senate about what time would be best for everyone. The time for the class was changed to Mondays at 3:30 pm; it was scheduled for 12:30 pm.

Adjournment

4:44 pm

Submitted by

Dennis Shannakian Student Activities Administrative Assistant Approved by DASB Senate on September 20, 2000.