MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING Wednesday, October 4, 2000 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm **Student Council Chambers**

Call to Order

Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Christopher Domingo	X		4:58 pm	
Barrington Dyer	X			
Geraldine Garcia	X			
Jaycfil Labio	X			
Stephanie Lagos	X			
Alexandra Liu	X			
Kea Loewen	X			
Jaylyn Luan	X			
Colleen McGuire	X			
Vinh Nguyen	X			
Neil Parekh	X			
Izaac Singh	X			
Saket Sood		X		
Scott Stern	X			
Svetha Swaminathan	X			
Melody Zarghami		X		

Approval of Minutes

Wednesday, September 20, 2000

Colleen McGuire needs to be added to the list of retreat committee members.

Jaylyn Luan moved to approve the minutes as amended.

Kea Loewen seconded the motion.

Motion passed unanimously

Consent Calendar

No items

Public Comments

Craig Van Kessel gave an update on ALTRANS and the results of the promotion and survey that the DASB Senate sponsored last year.

Burning Issues

No issues brought forth.

$\frac{\textbf{Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators}}{Samrah \ Khan-1^{st} \ meeting}$

Guillermo Ma – 1^{st} meeting Christina Luna – 1^{st} meeting Luis Bocaletti – 2^{nd} meeting Giang Le – 1^{st} meeting Usman Shakeel – 1^{st} meeting John Vejnoska – 1^{st} meeting Thao Tran – 1^{st} meeting Peter Kim – 1^{st} meeting Brett Jensen – 1^{st} meeting Les Leonardo – 2^{nd} meeting Shirin Darbani – 3^{rd} meeting Farnaz Kermaani – 4^{th} meeting Geneva Mendoza – 4^{th} meeting

There was a question and answer period for Shirin Darbani, Farnaz Kermaani, Geneva Mendoza, and David Sarkis.

Discussion occurred.

David Sarkis – 3rd meeting

Christopher Domingo moved to approve David Sarkis as a senator.

Jaylyn Luan seconded the motion.

Jaylyn Luan moved to end discussion.

Christopher Domingo seconded the motion.

Motion passed.

Main motion passed, 12 yes - 0 no - 1 abstain.

Kea Loewen moved to postpone the approval of the other three prospective senators until next meeting.

Christopher Domingo seconded the motion.

Discussion occurred on the motion.

After a lengthy debate President Stephanie Lagos ended discussion and decided the senate would vote on each prospective senator at this meeting.

Neil Parekh moved to approve Shirin Darbani as a senator.

Colleen McGuire seconded the motion.

Motion passed, 10 yes - 0 no - 3 abstain.

Geraldine Garcia moved to approve Farnaz Kermaani as a senator.

Neil Parekh seconded the motion.

Motion Passed, 9 yes - 0 no - 4 abstain.

Jaylyn Luan moved to approve Geneva Mendoza as a senator.

Vinh Nguyen seconded the motion.

Motion passed, 6 yes - 1 no - 6 abstain.

Shirin Darbani, Farnaz Kermaani, Geneva Mendoza, and David Sarkis were sworn in as DASB Senators.

Business

In the interest of time Item # 3 Graduation Requirements was moved to be the first item.

INFORMATION/DISCUSSION

1. Graduation Requirements

This item is to get information on and discuss the proposed changes to the graduation requirements for an associate degree.

Presenter: Kathy Plum

Kathy Plum presented information regarding proposed changes to the graduation requirements. There was a question and answer period afterwards.

Christopher Domingo moved to end discussion.

Barrington Dyer seconded the motion.

Motion approved.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

2. Travel Per Diem – 2nd vote

This item is to approve changes to allowed per diem expenses to district standard as approved at the ASB Senate meeting on September 20, 2000.

Presenters: Colleen McGuire, La Donna Yumori-Kaku

Jaylyn Luan moved to approve the changes to the Travel Code.

Neil Parekh seconded the motion.

Motion passed unanimously.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

3. Finance Code Changes -2^{nd} vote

This item is to discuss and act on changes to the DASB Finance Code as amended and approved at the DASB Senate meeting on September 20, 2000.

Presenter: Geraldine Garcia

Barrington Dyer moved to approve the changes to the Finance Code.

Colleen McGuire seconded the motion.

Motion passed, 9 yes - 0 no - 4 abstain.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

4. Travel Code and Bylaws Changes

This item is to approve changes to the travel committee making it an internal committee rather than ad-hoc and making the Executive Vice President its chair.

Presenter: Colleen McGuire

Kea Loewen moved to approve the changes to the Travel Code and Bylaws as amended.

Neil Parekh seconded the motion.

Barrington Dyer moved to end discussion.

Kea Loewen seconded the motion.

Motion passed unanimously.

Main motion passed 9 yes - 0 no - 4 abstain.

ACTION

5. External Committee Appointments

This item is to Appoint senators to external committees.

Committee List:

- Curriculum Committee, Tuesdays 2:00 pm 3:30 pm, Administrative Conference Room (ACR)
- Instructional Planning and Budget Team (PBT), Tuesdays 3:30 pm 5:00 pm, ACR
- Student Services PBT, Wednesdays, 2:30 3:30 pm, ACR
- Work Force PBT, 2nd and 4th Thursday, 2:00 pm 3:00 pm, Admin 6c
- College Services PBT, Mondays, 3:00 4:00 pm
- Campus Budget, 1st and 3rd Thursday, 1:30 pm 3:00 pm, T-9
 Facilities, 2nd and 4th Tuesdays, 3:00 pm 4:00 pm, Santa Cruz Room
 College Council, 2nd and 4th Thursdays, 3:30 pm
- Academic Council, Thursdays, 10:30 am
- Academic Senate, Mondays 2:30 pm 4:30 pm
- Campus Center Board, 3rd Monday
- Student Services Building Planning, Tuesdays, 12:00 pm 1:00 pm
- Educational Technology Advisory Committee (ETAC)
- **Diversity Advisory Council**

Presenter: John Cognetta

Discussion occurred and senators were asked to write down their committee assignment requests into Barrington Dyer's mailbox for approval at the next senate meeting.

Barrington Dyer moved to end discussion.

Neil Parekh seconded the motion.

Motion passed unanimously.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

6. Smart Card Committee

This item is to form and approve members to an ad-hoc smartcard committee.

Presenter: John Cognetta

Geraldine Garcia, Neil Parekh, Stephanie Lagos, David Sarkis, Chris Domingo, Scott Stern, and Geneva Mendoza were appointed to the Smart Card Committee.

Business Reports

Conference Reports

Jaylyn Luan, Colleen McGuire, Izaac Singh, Stephanie Lagos, Jaycfil Labio, Geraldine Garcia, Fernanda Castelo, and Ryan Bellon gave a brief report on their experiences at the CCCSAA conference.

Internal Committee

Geraldine Garcia stated that the Finance Committee meets Wednesdays at 2:00 pm in Meeting Room I. Interested people should come join them.

Jaylyn Luan stated that the Student Rights and Services Committee meets Thursdays at 3:00 pm in the Senate Office.

Colleen McGuire asked people to join the Administration Committee. It is tentatively scheduled to meet Mondays at 1:30 pm.

Izaac Singh asked people to join the Programs Committee. It is tentatively scheduled to meet Thursdays at 2:30 pm.

Barrington Dyer informed interested members that the Travel Committee will meet Monday at 1:30 pm.

Jaycfil Labio informed interested members that the Marketing & Communications Committee will meet Monday at 2:30 pm.

Christopher Domingo stated that the Technology Committee is in need of members.

- Internal Ad Hoc Committee
 - No reports
- External Committee
 - No reports
- ICC Report

Ryan Bellon, ICC Chair of Programs, thanked all the senators who helped with welcome week and reminded everyone that Club Day is Thursday, October 12, 2000.

- Student Trustee Report
 - Fernanda Castelo informed the senate of the board meeting on Monday, October 2, 2000. There is a marketing web site being worked on for the district. The next board meeting is Monday, October 16, 2000.
- Advisor's Report

La Donna Yumori-Kaku thanked all of the students who went to the CCCSAA conference for being well behaved. She asked for any volunteers interested in helping with new student orientations being hel on Monday, October 9, 2000 at 10:30 am or 12:30 am.

Announcements/Informational Reports

Adjournment

Submitted by

Dennis Shannakian Student Activities Administrative Assistant Approved by DASB Senate on October 11, 2000.