MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING Monday, June 18, 2001 3:30 pm – 5:30 pm Student Council Chambers

Call to Order

Stephanie Lagos called the meeting to order 3:35 p.m.

Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
1. Luis Bocaletti	X			
2. Shirin Darbani	X			
3. Christopher Domingo	X			
4. Barrington Dyer	X			X
5. Geraldine Garcia	X			
6. Melina Iglesias		X		
7. Brett Jensen	X			
8. Farnaz Kermaani	X			
9. Samrah Khan	X			
10. Diana La	X			
11. Jaycfil Labio	X			
12. Stephanie Lagos	X			
13. Giang Le	X			
14. Alexandra Liu	X		3:40 p.m.	
15. Kea Loewen	X			
16. Christina Luna		X		
17. Mary Mazaheri		X		
18. Colleen McGuire	X		4:00 p.m.	
19. Christopher Mikita	X			
20. Neil Parekh	X			
21. Celina Perez	X			
22. David Sarkis	X			
23. Christina Shcranz	X			
24. Usman Shakeel	X			
25. Izaac Singh	X			
26. Svetha Swaminathan		X		
27. Thao Tran	X		5:00 p.m.	
28. Taban Zarinaal		X		

Business

DISCUSSION/ACTION

1. Motion to Reconsider

This item is to reconsider the validity of Huong Nguyen's resignation for the position of VP of Marketing and Communications.

Presenter: Stephanie Lagos

Huong Nguyen spoke on her behalf that she wasn't aware that her verbal resignation was taken seriously. She mentioned that James Harris-Williams spoke with her after the Election Committee Grievance Meeting and told her that to make her resignation valid, she has it to put in writing. Due to this, since she didn't put it writing she believes her resignation is not valid.

Discussion occurred.

Brett Jensen moved to accept Huong Nguyen's resignation.

Barrington Dyer seconded the motion.

Discussion occurred.

Usman Shakeel moved to end discussion.

Samrah Khan seconded the motion.

Motion to end discussion failed 11-6. It did failed to receive 2/3 of the Senate's vote.

Discussion continued.

Kea Loewen moved to end discussion.

Shirin Darbani seconded the motion.

Motion to end discussion passed 16-3.

Christopher Domingo moved to have voting in the form of roll call.

Neil Parekh seconded the motion.

Motion passed.

Brett Jensen moved to re-consider the validity of Huong Nguyen's resignation.

Izaac Singh seconded the motion.

Motion passed.

Vote to reconsider the validity of Huong Nguyen's resignation.

Name	Yes	No	Abstain
1. Luis Bocaletti		X	
2. Shirin Darbani	X		
3. Christopher Domingo		X	
4. Barrington Dyer	-	-	-
5. Geraldine Garcia		X	
6. Melina Iglesias			
7. Brett Jensen	X		
8. Farnaz Kermaani	X		
9. Samrah Khan	X		
10. Diana La	X		
11. Jaycfil Labio			X
12. Stephanie Lagos	-	-	-
13. Giang Le	X		
14. Alexandra Liu	X		

15. Kea Loewen	X		
16. Christina Luna	-	-	-
17. Mary Mazaheri	-	-	-
18. Colleen McGuire		X	
19. Christopher Mikita	X		
20. Neil Parekh	X		
21. Celina Perez	X		
22. David Sarkis	X		
23. Christina Shranz	X		
24. Usman Shakeel	X		
25. Izaac Singh		X	
26. Svetha Swaminathan	-	-	_
27. Thao Tran			X
28. Taban Zarinaal	-	-	-

Motion to reconsider passed by 14-5-2.

Vote to accept Huong Nguyen's resignation.

Name	Yes	No	Abstain
1. Luis Bocaletti		X	
2. Shirin Darbani	X		
3. Christopher Domingo			X
4. Barrington Dyer	-	-	-
5. Geraldine Garcia		X	
6. Melina Iglesias	-	-	-
7. Brett Jensen	X		
8. Farnaz Kermaani	X		
9. Samrah Khan	X		
10. Diana La	X		
11. Jaycfil Labio			X
12. Stephanie Lagos	-	-	-
13. Giang Le	X		
14. Alexandra Liu	X		
15. Kea Loewen		X	
16. Christina Luna	-	-	-
17. Mary Mazaheri	-	-	-
18. Colleen McGuire		X	
19. Christopher Mikita	X		
20. Neil Parekh			X
21. Celina Perez		X	
22. David Sarkis	X		
23. Christina Shranz			X
24. Usman Shakeel			X X
25. Izaac Singh		X	
26. Svetha Swaminathan	-		_
27. Thao Tran			X
28. Taban Zarinaal	-	-	_

Motion to reconsider Huong Nguyen's resignation passed 9-6-6

Adjournment

Stephanie Lagos adjourned the meeting at 4:45 p.m.

Submitted by

Karen Acosta DASB Secretary Approved by the DASB Senate on Thursday, July 26, 2001