MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING Thursday, July 26, 2001 2:30 pm Student Council Chambers

Call to Order

Shirin Darbani called the meeting to order at 2:35 p.m.

Roll Call Name Present Absent Late Left Early 1. Farid Alhadi Х excused 2. Claudia Andrade Х Х 3. Jittaun Batiste 4. Rafael Beyer Х 5. Jeff Carter Х excused Х 6. Joyce Chun 7. Kimberly Cofer Х 8. Shirin Darbani Х 9. Umar Douglas Х 3:46 p.m. 10. Cassandra Flores Х 11. Rami Gasim Х 12. Aneela Haider Х 13. Md. Azharul Haque Х excused 14. Sulaiman Hyatt Х excused 15. Brett Jensen Х 16. Ahmed Khatib Х 17. Diana La Х 18. Shira Leeder Х 19. Karie Marlin Х 20. Mary Mazaheri Х excused 21. Coleen McGuire Х 22. Melecia Navarro Х Х 23. Huong Nguyen 24. Quynh Chi Nguyen Х excused Х 25. Neil Parekh 26. Colin Pickel Х excused 27. Christina Schranz Х excused 28. Usman Shakeel Х excused 29. Alice Tsui Х 30. Taban Zarrinaal Х

Approval of Minutes

Wednesday, June 13, 2001 Monday, June 18, 2001 Thursday, July 19, 2001

Brett Jensen moved to approve the Wednesday, June 13, 2001; Monday, June 18, 2001; and the Thursday, July 19, 2001 Senate Minutes.

Discussion occurred.

Neil Parekh seconded the motion.

Motion to approve the Wednesday, June 13, 2001; Monday, June 18, 2001; and the Thursday, July 19, 2001 Senate Minutes passed by unanimous vote.

Public Comments

Phuong Le, an intern in a corporate for free citizenship service called Siren, introduced to the Senate a higher education bill called AB 540. This bill states that undocumented students who attended at least 3 years of high school should only pay the cost of instate college tuition. Devin Fernandez, another member of Siren, encouraged the Senate to put pressure on the government of approve this bill. He added that if anyone knows any undocumented students, to please inform them of this bill.

La Donna Yumori-Kaku informed the Senate of a mini-fair on August 16, 2001. A sign up sheet was passed around.

Burning Issues

Karie Marlin and Diana La were sworn in the DASB Senate Body.

Consent Calendar

- 1. Add Umar Douglas to the Administration Committee
- 2. Add Jeff Carter to the Administration Committee
- 3. Add Jittaun Batiste to the Travel Committee
- 4. Add Aneela Haider to the Student Rights and Services Committee
- 5. Add Ahmad Khatib to the Technology Committee
- 6. Add Mohammed Azharul Haque to the Technology Committee
- 7. Add Neil Parekh to the Health Advisory Committee
- 8. Add Joyce Chun to the Marketing and Communications Committee
- 9. Add Quynh Chi Nguyen to the Marketing and Communications Committee
- 10. Add Taban Zarrinaal to the Marketing and Communications Committee
- 11. Add Alice Tsui the Marketing and Communications Committee
- 12. Add Colin Pickel to the Programs Committee
- 13. Add Mary Mazaheri to the Programs Committee
- 14. Add Mohammed Azharul Haque to the Programs Committee
- 15. Add Rami Gasim to the Finance Committee
- 16. Add Christina Schranz to the Finance Committee

- 17. Add Sulaiman Hyatt to the Finance Committee
- 18. Add Shirin Darbani to the Finance Committee
- 19. Add Rafael Beyer to the Finance Committee and appoint him as Vice Chair

Discussion occurred about Brett Jensen removing item #17 (Add Sulaiman Hyatt to the Finance Committee) on the Consent Calendar. Neil Parekh moved to end discussion. Taban Zarrinaal seconded the motion. Motion to end discussion passed Item #17 was removed from the Consent Calendar and became a business item #20.

Neil Parekh moved approve items #1-16 and #18-19 on the Consent Calendar. Ahmed Khatib seconded the motion. Motion passed by unanimous vote.

Business

DISCUSSION/ACTION

20. Removal of Sulaiman Hyatt on the Consent Calendar for the Finance Committee.

This item is to discuss the removal of Sulaiman Hyatt on the Consent Calendar for the Finance Committee.

Presenter: Brett Jensen

Discussion occurred about the Finance Committee's meeting time and Sulaiman Hyatt's class schedule. The body concluded that Brett Jensen and Sulaiman Hyatt should talk about this issue furthermore between them.

INFORMATION

21. Information on the New Floor Installation

This item is to review given estimates on the installation of utilities for the Senate Office Floor.

Presenter: Claude Andrade

Time limit: 10 minutes

Claudia Andrade reported to the Senate that the estimate cost for the Student Council Chamber floors is \$8,000 and between \$5,000-6,000 for the Senate Office floor. Floor samples were passed around to the body. She reported that before any decisions can be made on the floor changes, Klaus Dehn, the Campus Center Director, should be informed.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

22. Ad Hoc Committee for Bylaws

This item is to form and approve members to Ad Hoc Committee for Bylaws.

Presenter: Shirin Darbani

Time limit: 5 minutes

Shirin Darbani reported to the Senate that the following people are on the Ad Hoc Committee for the Bylaws:

- Claudia Andrade (chair)
- Colin Pickel
- Huong Nguyen
- Ahmed Khatib

- Melecia Navarro
- Neil Parekh
- Shirin Darbani.

Brett Jensen moved to approve the people listed as members of the Ad Hoc Committee for the Bylaws.

Rafael Beyer seconded the motion. Discussion occurred Colleen McGuire moved to end discussion. Ahmed Khatib seconded the motion. Motion to end discussion passed. Main motion passed by unanimous vote.

INFORMATION

20. Student Body Fees

This item is to share information about student body fees bad debt expense of \$24,924. Presenter: Brett Jensen Time limit: 5 minutes Brett Jensen reported to the Senate that De Anza owes the district \$8,500 from uncollected De Anza Student Body card fees.

Business Reports

Brett Jensen reported that DASB Account line item and signature forms have been sent out and are due back by August 15, 2001.

Neil Parekh reported to the Senate that the Technology Committee will be meeting next week and will be discussing about what to do with the computers.

Introduction/Approval of Perspective Senators Ju Kang - 2nd meeting

Announcements/Informational Reports

Shirin Darbani announced that not all External Committees have been filled. She passed out a list of names. The people whose names are circled did not get in the Committees they signed up for. However, they still need to be in an External Committee. In addition, Shirin Darbani reported senators should talk to her about Internal Committee sign ups. Three absences in an Internal Committee is qualification for Senate removal. She reminded the Senate that if anyone can't make it to a meeting, they have to call her or else it's not excused. She announced that numbers will be exchanged so the Senate can communicate with each other.

Huong Nguyen, Ahmed Khatib, and Neil Parekh requested that only their cell phones be listed and not their home numbers.

Shirin Darbani asked the Senate to respect each other during meetings - no side conversations, and she asked that hands be raised if they want to talk.

Les Leonardo, the De Anza Student Trustee, announced that an earthquake fault was discovered was under Foothill's Childcare Center. The Childcare center will be transferred to De Anza. La Donna Yumori-Kaku announced that a small group is coming from Sanyo University. Pizza will be served during lunch. A sign sheet was passed out.

John Cognetta announced that there will be a bylaw workshop after the Senate meeting.

Appreciation Period

<u>Adjournment</u> Shirin Darbani adjourned the meeting at 3:20 p.m.

Submitted by

Karen Acosta DASB Secretary Approved by the DASB Senate on Thursday, August 16, 2001