MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING Thursday, August 21, 2003 6:00 pm Student Council Chambers

Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 6:14 pm by James Newburg, DASB Executive VP.

Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early	
1. Samuel Akau	X				
2. Jonathan Bellini		X			On Leave
3. Lauren Bruton		X			
4. Tiyasha De Pinto	X				
5. Jichen Deng	X		X		
6. Darlene Franklin		X			
7. Drew Golkar	X				
8. Carrie Gotch	X				
9. Rebecca Danielle Johanson	X				
10. Rabiah Khalid	X				
11. Joseph Kim	X			X	
12. William Le	X				
13. Anthony Lin	X				
14. Tammy Marquez	X				
15. Foad Mozafari	X				
16. James Newburg	X				
17. Hai Nguyen	X		X		Excused
18. James Nguyen		X			
19. Jihai Park		X			
20. Allison Smith		X			Excused
21. John Scott Stevenson	X				
22. Sarah Wood		X			
23. Lucas Wu	X				
24. Saba Zariv		X			Excused

Approval of Minutes

Tuesday, August 5, 2003

Anthony Lin moved to approve the minutes for Tuesday, August 5, 2003.

Carrie Gotch seconded the motion.

Motion passed by consensus.

Public Comments

Aspandior Dahmubed presented information about a teacher review website for De Anza College.

Burning Issues

There were no burning issues.

Consent Calendar

- 1. Remove Tammy Marquez from the DASB Student Rights and Services Committee.
- 2. Add Tammy Marquez to the DASB Scholarship/Book Grant Committee (Chair).
- 3. Add Anthony Lin to the DASB Budget and Finance Committee.
- 4. Add Danielle Johanson to the DASB Student Rights and Services Committee (Vice-Chair).
- 5. Add James Newburg to the DASB Administration Committee.
- 6. Remove Anthony Lin from the Inter Club Council.
- 7. Add Anthony Lin to the Student Grievance Committee.
- 8. Add Jichen Deng to the Facilities Committee.
- 9. Add Foad Mozaffari to the Student Grievance Committee.
- 10. Add Hai Nguyen to the Transportation / Parking Committee.
- 11. Add Rabiah Khalid to the College Council.
- 12. Add Joseph Kim to the Campus Center Board.
- 13. Add Carrie Gotch to the Curriculum Committee.
- 14. Add Scott Stevenson to the Environmental Studies Building Planning Committee.
- 15. Add Sarah Wood to the Health Advisory Committee.
- 16. Add James Nguyen to the Inter Club Council.

Drew Golkar moved to approve the consent calendar.

Anthony Lin seconded the motion.

The motion was approved by consensus.

Business

DISCUSSION/ACTION - First Vote

17. New Funding Request

This item is to request new funding in the amount of \$5.550.00 for discounted AMC movie tickets for students.

Presenter: Jihai Charissa Park

Time Limit: 15 Minutes

Anthony Lin gave introduction to the New Funding Request.

La Donna Yumori-Kaku presented the item.

Discussion occurred.

Anthony Lin moved to approve the motion.

Rebecca Danielle Johanson seconded the motion.

Discussion occurred.

Joseph Kim moved to end discussion.

Anthony Lin seconded the motion.

Motion to end discussion passed with 11 yes to 1 no votes.

Name	Yes	No	Abstain
1. Samuel Akau	X		
2. Jonathan Bellini	-	-	-
3. Lauren Bruton	-	-	-
4. Tiyasha De Pinto	X		
5. Jichen Deng	X		
6. Darlene Franklin	-	-	-
7. Drew Golkar	X		
8. Carrie Gotch	X		
9. Rebecca Danielle Johanson	X		
10. Rabiah Khalid	X		
11. Joseph Kim	X		

12. William Le	X		
13. Anthony Lin	X		
14. Tammy Marquez	X		
15. Foad Mozafari	X		
16. James Newburg	-	-	-
17. Hai Nguyen	-	-	-
18. James Nguyen	-	-	-
19. Jihai Park	-	-	-
20. Allison Smith	-	-	-
21. John Scott Stevenson	X		
22. Sarah Wood	-	-	-
23. Lucas Wu	X		
24. Saba Zariv	-	-	-

Motion to approve new funding passed with 14 yes to 0 no votes.

INFORMATION

18. July 2003 checks \$500.00 or greater

This item is to present the list of checks processed by the Students Accounts Office during July 2003 that were \$500.00 or greater.

Presenter: Jennifer Nguyen Time Limit: 5 Minutes

John Cognetta presented the item.

Discussion occurred.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

19. Fall Quarter Finance Meeting Schedules

This item is to confirm the Fall DASB Senate and Finance meeting schedules.

Presenter: Saba Zariv Time Limit: 10 Minutes

Drew Golkar presented the item.

Discussion occurred.

Anthony Lin moved to approve the Fall Quarter Meeting Schedule for Wednesdays at

1:30p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Joseph Kim seconded the motion.

Motion passed by consensus.

Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators

Prospective senators introduced themselves.

Eric Tonk – Third Meeting

America Navarro – Second Meeting

Mohammad Shaikh - Second Meeting

Anne Park – Third Meeting

Nata Lai - Second Meeting

Discussion occurred.

There was a question and answer period for Eric Tonk.

There was a question and answer period for Anne Park.

Discussion occurred.

Rabiah Khalid moved to approve Eric Tonk as a Junior Senator.

Jichen Deng seconded the motion.

Discussion occurred.

Rabiah Khalid moved to end the discussion.

Anthony Lin seconded the motion.

Motion to end the discussion passed by consensus.

Motion to approve Eric Tonk as a Junior Senator passed with 14 yes to 0 no votes.

Discussion occurred.

Rabiah Khalid moved to approve Anne Park as a Junior Senator.

Drew Golkar seconded the motion.

Drew Golkar moved to end the discussion.

Tammy Marquez seconded the motion.

Motion passed by consensus

The motion to approve Anne Park as a Junior Senator passed with 11 yes to 3 no votes.

Eric Tonk and Anne Park were sworn in as Junior Senators.

Discussion occurred.

Business Reports

Anthony Lin reported that welcome week is planned for new student (new student orientation) and reminded that Multicultural Meeting is coming

Drew Golkar reported that there are more members needed for financial meetings

William Lee reported that he is looking for more members for meetings for teachers review website at De Anza.

Carrie Gotch introduced items discussed at the Marketing and Communication meeting.

Announcements/Informational Reports

Anthony Lin announced that Forum I will be decorated next Monday at 10am and volunteers are needed.

Anthony Lin informed that there is a meeting for volunteers on Wednesday at 1pm.

Appreciation Period

There was an appreciation period.

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 7:37pm by James Newburg, DASB Executive VP.

Submitted by:

Anna Saemann DASB Secretary Approved Tuesday, September 2, 2003