# **MINUTES** DASB SENATE MEETING Wednesday, June 2, 2004 4:30 pm **Student Council Chambers**

### Call to Order

James Newburg called the meeting 4:32 pm.

#### **Roll Call**

Name	Present	Absent	Late	<b>Left Early</b>
1. Samuel Akau		X		
2. Jonathan Bellini	X			5:05 pm
3. Carolyne Chan	X			
4. Darlene Franklin		X		
5. Drew Golkar	X			
6. Amine Hambaba	X			
7. Danielle Johanson	X			
8. Raheleh Kermaani	X			
9. Rabiah Khalid	X			
10. Amel Khan*	X		4:33 pm	
11. Henna Khan	X		4:43 pm	
12. Anthony Lin	X			
13. Nadine Foster-Mahar		X		
14. Lilya Mittelman	X			
15. James Newburg	X			
16. Andrew-Brian Nguyen	X		4:39 pm	
17. James Nguyen	X			
18. Minh Nguyen	X		4:35 pm	
19. Anne Park	X			
20. Gita Ram	X			
21. Martha Ruiz	X			
22. Mohammad Shaikh	X			
23. Allison Smith	X			
24. Huan Tran (Bon)	X		4:45 pm	
25. Lucas Wu		X	4:50 pm	
26. Saba Zariv		X		

Advisor: Dr. John Cognetta

## **Approval of Minutes**

Wednesday May 26, 2004

Faham Shaikh moved to approve the Minutes of Wednesday May 26, 2004.

Anne Park seconded the motion.

Motion to approve the Minutes of Wednesday May 26, 2004 passed by consensus.

### **Public Comments**

There were no public comments.

## **Burning Issues**

Drew Golkar announced he would like to add Lilya Mittelman to the Finance Committee.

Gita Ram made a comment about adding agents to a committee.

Kate Bertges reminded the Senate to recruit for a new secretary.

### **Consent Calendar**

There were no items on the Consent Calendar.

### **Business**

Danielle Johanson moved to add "Add Lilya Mittelman to the Finance Committee".

Anne Park seconded the motion.

Motion to add "Add Lilya Mittleman to the Finance Committee" passed by consensus.

#### DISCUSSION/ACTION

1. Add Lilya Mittelman to the Finance Committee

This item is to approve Lilya Mittelman to the Finance Committee.

Presenter: Drew Golkar Time Limit: 10 Minutes

Anne Park moved to add Lilya Mittelman to the Finance Committee.

James Nguyen seconded the motion.

Motion to add Lilya Mittelman to the Finance Committee passed by consensus.

#### DISCUSSION/ACTION

2. Resolution to Endorse SB 1875

This item is to approve a resolution to endorse SB 1875, a bill proposed in the State Legislature, which promotes equalization of community college funding based on enrollment.

Presenter: James Newburg Time Limit: 15 Minutes

James Newburg presented this item.

Discussion occurred.

Lilya Mittleman moved to approve a resolution to endorse SB 1875, a bill proposed in the State Legislature, which promotes equalization of community college funding based on enrollment.

Amel Khan seconded the motion.

Discussion occurred.

Drew Golkar moved to postpone this item to next week's meeting.

Anne Park seconded the motion.

There was no discussion.

Motion to postpone this item to next week's meeting passed with 17 yes and 0 no votes.

#### DISCUSSION/ACTION - Second Vote

3. Shared Government Task Force Code

This item is to approve a committee code for the DASB Shared Governance Task Force, which, if approved would be a standing internal committee under the authority of the Executive Vice President.

Presenter: James Newburg

Time Limit: 15 Minutes

James Newburg presented this item.

Lilya Mittelman moved to approve a committee code for the DASB Shared Governance Task Force, which, if approved would be a standing internal committee under the authority of the Executive Vice President.

Drew Golkar seconded the motion

Discussion occurred.

Drew Golkar moved to end discussion.

Amel Khan seconded the motion.

Motion to end discussion passed with 14 yes to 0 no votes.

Name	Yes	No	Abstain
1. Samuel Akau	-	-	-
2. Jonathan Bellini	X		
3. Carolyne Chan		X	
4. Darlene Franklin		X	
5. Drew Golkar	X		
6. Amine Hambaba		X	
7. Rebecca Danielle Johanson	X		
8. Raheleh Kermaani	X		
9. Rabiah Khalid		X	
10. Henna Khan		X	
11. Anthony Lin		X	
12. Nadine Foster-Mahar	-	-	-
13. Lilya Mittelman	X		
14. James Newburg	-		
15. Andrew-Brian Nguyen		X	
16. James Nguyen	X		
17. Minh Nguyen	X		
18. Anne Park			X
19. Gita Ram		X	
20. Martha Ruiz			X
21. Mohammad Shaikh	X		
22. Allison Smith	X		
23. Huan Tran		X	
24. Lucas Wu		X	
25. Saba Zariv	-	-	-

Motion to approve a committee code for the DASB Shared Governance Task Force, which, if approved would be a standing internal committee under the authority of the Executive Vice President failed with 9 yes to 10 no votes.

#### **INFORMATION**

4. May Revise Rally Update

This item is to update the DASB Senate on preparation for the May Revise Rally.

Presenter: Allison Smith Time Limit: 20 Minutes

Allison Smith presented this item.

Discussion occurred.

Discussion ended

### DISCUSSION/ACTION

5. Resolution to Endorse John Kerry for President

This item is to approve a resolution to endorse John Kerry for President of the United States.

Presenter: James Newburg Time Limit: 15 Minutes

James Newburg presented this item.

Discussion occurred.

Allison Smith moved to approve the resolution to endorse John Kerry for President of the United States.

There was no second.

Discussion ended.

## DISCUSSION/ACTION – Urgent Item

## 6. New Funding Request

This item is to approve \$1500.00 from account 41-52102 (Winter/Spring Special Allocations) in order to fund No-Smoking signs. This needs to be approved as a carryforward.

Presenter: Allison Smith Time Limit: 10 Minutes

Martha Ruiz presented this item.

Drew Golkar moved is to approve \$1500.00 from account 41-52102 (Winter/Spring Special Allocations) in order to fund No-Smoking signs with the stipulation that it says funded by the DASB and to be approved as a carry-forward.

Gita Ram seconded the motion.

Discussion occurred. Discussion ended.

Name	Yes	No	Abstain
Samuel Akau	_	-	-
2. Jonathan Bellini	-	-	-
3. Carolyne Chan	X		
4. Darlene Franklin	X		
5. Drew Golkar	X		
6. Amine Hambaba	X		
7. Rebecca Danielle Johanson	X		
8. Raheleh Kermaani	X		
9. Rabiah Khalid	X		
10. Henna Khan	X		
11. Anthony Lin	X		
12. Nadine Foster-Mahar	-	-	-
13. Lilya Mittelman	X		
14. James Newburg	-	-	-
15. Andrew-Brian Nguyen	X		
16. James Nguyen	X		
17. Minh Nguyen	X		
18. Anne Park	X		
19. Gita Ram	X		
20. Martha Ruiz	X		
21. Mohammad Shaikh	X		
22. Allison Smith	X		
23. Huan Tran	X		
24. Lucas Wu	X		
25. Saba Zariv	-		- (M): + /C : (

Motion to approve \$1500.00 from account 41-52102 (Winter/Spring Special Allocations) in order to fund No-Smoking signs passed unanimously.

### **Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators**

There were none.

## **Business Reports**

- ◆ Anthony Lin reported from Diversity and Events.
- ◆ Anne Park announced ICC had run out of funds.
- Gita Ram reported from Marketing Committee.

# **Announcements/Informational Report**

Dr. John Cognetta reminded the Senate of leadership scholarships deadlines. Discussion occurred.

Darlene Franklin announced that Battle of the Bands time had been rescheduled.

### **Appreciation Period**

Appreciations were given.

### **Adjournment**

James Newburg adjourned the meeting at 5:17 pm.

Submitted By:

Kate Bertges DASB Secretary Approved Wednesday June 9, 2004