MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING Wednesday, August 10, 2005 4:30 pm Student Council Chambers

Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 4:47 PM by Anna Callahan.

Roll Call

Senators

<u>Name</u>	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early	
Ananya Ashok	X				
Anna Callahan	X				
London Choi	X				
Wei Chuan "Helen" Chung	X				
Ashlie Cloudt-Barrall		X			
Bernardo de Seabra		X			Excused
Jesus Gomez		X			Excused
Yaveth Gomez		X			
Sanjeet Heyer	X		X		
Rithika Kumar		X			
Audrey Lo		X			Excused
Tim Nicholls		X			
Zahra Noor	X				
Saleha Pirzada	X				
Israr Qumer	X				
Kazuma Seto	X				
Alex Wu	X		X		

Junior Senators

<u>Name</u>	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Ken Amornnopawong	X			
Thai-Ry Chang Urena		X		
Robert Delgadillo		X		
David He		X		

Guests: Menglan Fan (Susan), Srey Prasad, Misha Zmijewski, Donald Murphy, Slamade Jamshidrpovl

Swearing In of any remaining Elected 2005-2006 DASB Senate Members

- Swearing in of the 2005-2006 DASB Senators
- Swearing in of the 2005-2006 DASB Junior Senators

Anna Callahan announced that Ashlie Cloudt-Barall and Rithika Kumar had submitted their resignations from the DASB Senate by e-mail.

The DASB Senate accepted their resignations by consensus.

Approval of Minutes

July 6, 2005

July 20, 2005

London Choi moved to approve the minutes for July 6, 2005 and July 20, 2005.

Israr Qumer seconded the motion.

The motion to approve the minutes passed by consensus.

Public Comments

There were no public comments.

Burning Issues

There were no burning issues.

Consent Calendar

There were no Consent Calendar items.

Business

INFORMATION

1. 2004-2005 Encumbrances to 2005-2006

This item is to present the list of Encumbrances for goods ordered but not received in 2004-2005. Encumbrances remain in the 2005-2006 fiscal year until goods are received and paid for.

Presenter: Lisa Kirk Time Limit: 5 minutes

Lisa Kirk presented the list of Encumbrances.

INFORMATION

2. 2004-2005 Carry-Forward Amounts for DASB Approved Accounts

This item is to present the list of Carry-Forward Accounts and the dollar amounts carried forward to 2005-2006.

Presenter: Lisa Kirk Time Limit: 5 minutes

Lisa Kirk presented the list of Carry-Forward Accounts.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

3. Disposal of Student Accounts Computers

This item is to approve what to do with the five old Student Accounts computers once the new PCs arrive. The computers are five to seven years old.

Presenter: Lisa Kirk Time Limit: 10 minutes

Lisa Kirk presented the item and recommended that the computers be donated to the Student Computer Donation Program managed by OTI and administered through Financial Aid.

London Choi moved to donate the computers to the Student Computer Donation Program.

Saleha Pirzada seconded the motion.

Discussion occurred.

Zahra Noor moved to end discussion.

Israr Qumer seconded the motion.

The motion to end discussion passed by consensus.

The motion to donate the computers passed by consensus.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

4. New DASB Card Design

This item is to approve a new design for the DASB Card.

Presenter: Dennis Shannakian

Time Limit: 15 minutes

Dennis Shannakian presented three proposed designs.

Discussion occurred.

London Choi moved to postpone the approval of the new card until the August 24th Senate meeting provided that the card company's deadline allows for the delay.

Saleha Pirzada seconded the motion. Zahra Noor moved to end discussion.

London Choi seconded the motion.

The motion to end discussion passed by consensus.

The motion to postpone passed by consensus.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

5. Possible changes to the DASB Logo

This item is to approve of a possible change to the DASB Logo.

Presenter: Anna Callahan Time Limit: 15 minutes

Dennis Shannakian presented five possible options.

London Choi moved to approve a sixth option, one similar to option 3 but with the outside figures facing in rather than out.

Helen Chung seconded the motion.

Dennis Shannakian requested a moment to create a design for option six.

Israr Qumer moved to table this item.

Sanjeet Heyer seconded the motion.

The motion to table the item passed by consensus.

DISCUSSION/ACTION

6. Nomination and Possible Appointment of a DASB VP of Budget and Finance
This item is to accept nominations for the position of DASB VP of Budget and Finance.
If only one person is nominated, the appointment process shall take place at this meeting, if there is more than one nominee, the appointment shall be made at the next DASB Senate meeting.

Presenter: Anna Callahan Time Limit: 15 minutes

Anna Callahan opened the floor to nomination for the 2005-2006 DASB Vice President of Budget and Fiance.

The following individuals nominated themselves for the position:

- 1. Sanjeet Heyer
- 2. Ken Amornnopawong
- 3. Kazuma Seto

Ananya Ashok moved to close nominations.

London Choi seconded the motion.

Saleha Pirzada moved to end discussion.

Zahra Noor seconded the motion.

The motion to end discussion passed by consensus.

The motion to close nominations passed by consensus.

Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators

- Shrey Prasad third meeting
- Siamack Janshidipour first meeting
- Menglan Fan first meeting

- Soheil J. Karbassi ninth meeting
- George E. Smith third meeting
- Donald Murphy third meeting
- Ken Amornnopawong third meeting (Junior Senator)

Anna Callahan made the recommendation to approve all four Prospective Senators up for a vote today as Senators (Soheil "John" Karbassi, George Edward Smith, Donald Murphy and Ken Amornnopawong).

A straw poll was taken and the results were three (3) for questioning them individually and three (3) for just appointing all four of them as Senators.

Anna Callahan broke the tie by voting to appoint them all.

Israr Qumer moved to appoint Soheil "John" Karbassi, George Edward Smith, Donald Murphy and Ken Amornnopawong as DASB Senators.

Ananya Ashok seconded the motion.

Discussion occurred.

Israr Oumer moved to end discussion.

Kazuma Seto seconded the motion.

The motion to end discussion passed by consensus.

The motion to appoint these four Prospective Senators as Senators passed by consensus.

Israr Qumer moved to take Item 5 (DASB Logo) from the table.

Alex Wu seconded the motion.

London Choi moved to end discussion on approving option 6 as the new DASB Logo.

Israr Qumer seconded the motion.

The motion to end discussion passed by consensus.

The motion to approve failed with 4 yes to 5 no votes.

Discussion occurred.

Israr Qumer moved to postpone the approval of the new DASB Logo until the August 24th Senate meeting provided that the card company's deadline allows for the delay.

There was no second.

Discussion occurred.

Israr Qumer moved to postpone the approval of the new DASB Logo until the August 24th Senate meeting provided that the card company's deadline allows for the delay and that he would work on a new logo for the August 24th Senate Meeting.

Sanjeet Heyer seconded the motion.

The motion to postpone the approval of the DASB Logo passed by consensus.

Soheil "John" Karbassi, George Edward Smith, Donald Murphy and Ken Amornnopawong were sworn in as DASB Senators.

Business Reports

There were no business reports.

Announcements/Informational Reports

• Schedule for Summer 2005:

 July 6 – 3:30 PM
 August 10 – 4:30 PM
 September 7 – 4:30 PM

 July 20 – 4:30 PM
 August 24 – 3:30 PM
 September 21 – 3:30 PM

There will be a Senate Dinner after one of the workshops TBD.

- Anna Callahan announced that a meeting may be added on August 17 for approval of any DASB Logo changes and the new DASB Card design.
- Alex Wu announced that he would like shirt sizes from all of the DASB Senate members.
- Anna Callahan announced that volunteers are needed for a Non-Smoking Campus Committee.

Appreciations

Appreciations were given.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 5:44 PM by Anna Callahan.

Submitted by

Dennis Armen Shannakian Student Activities Administrative Assistant Approved Wednesday, August 24, 2005