# MINUTES DASB SENATE MEETING

# Wednesday, June 18, 2008

# 5:30pm or after the previous Senate Meeting, whichever occurs latest Student Council Chambers

# **Call to Order**

Terell Sterling called the meeting to order at 7:00pm.

# Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early	]
1. Joyce Cheung	X				
2. Jimmy Chim	X				
3. Andy Chow	X				
4. Enma Cruz-		X			Excused
Montoya					
5. Zeynep Erturkoglu	X				
6. Mai Funaki	X				
7. Yuka Hayashibara		X			
8. Shinyoung Kim	X				
9. Calvin Lam	X				
10. Mian Lam	X				
11. Henry Lau	X				
12. Livia Lee	X				
13. Sean Lee	X				
14. Patrick Leung	X				
15. Jay Lu	X				
16. Esha Menon	X				
17. Valery Nguyen	X				
18. Jeff Noon		X			Excused
19. Amir Pourshafiee	X				
20. Anna Shevchenko	X				
21. Joyce Sim		X			
22. Yoshi Someha		X			
23. Terell Sterling	X				
24. Yoshie Takeuchi		X			
25. Vijay	X			X 7:45pm	Excused
Veeramachaneni					
26. Jessica Wong	X			X 8:00pm	Excused
27. Romeo Wong	X				
28. Yujin Yoshimura		X			
29. June Yuan	X				
30. Michelle Zhong	X				

### **Junior Senators**

N	<u>ame</u>	Present	Absent	Late	<b>Left Early</b>
1.	Robin Claassen	X			
2.	Karthi Kumar	X			X 7:45pm

Excused

3.	Yoon Minn Lai		X	
4.	Bobby Lee	X		X 8:11pm
5.	Alan Alejandro	X		
	Okida			
6.	Kurt Pham	X		
7.	Deidre Quan	X		
8.	Asami Sato	X		
9.	Mo Shirazi	X		

Excused

Guests:

## **Approval of Minutes**

There were no minutes to approval.

#### **Public Comments**

Please note: Members of the public are limited to two minutes. The Senate cannot take action or respond to items during public comments.

John Cognetta: Wants to congratulate everyone in the Senate. He's big on planning so hopes everyone will use the summer to plan for the beginning of the school year and be ready to go.

#### **Burning Issues**

Terell Sterling: Would like to people to take the time to get to know Anna as she will be leaving the Senate soon.

#### **Consent Calendar**

There were no items on the consent calendar.

#### **Business**

#### 1. INFORMATION/DISCUSSION/ACTION

Formation of DASB Retreat Committee

This item is to form the DASB Retreat Committee.

Presenter: Chair

Time Limit: 10 minutes

Anna Shevchenko moved to form the DASB Retreat Committee and decide who is going to chair the committee and the timing at a later date.

June Yuan seconded

Discussion occurred.

Esha Menon moved to end the discussion.

Anna Shevchenko seconded.

Motion to end the discussion was passed by consensus.

Motion to form the DASB Retreat Committee and decide who is going to chair the committee and the timing at a later date was passed unanimously.

Straw Poll Vote for retreat dates:

July 5 and 6 21 votes July 12 and 13 23 votes The days of the retreat will be July 12 and 13, 2008.

Senate members who would like to be added to the Retreat Committee:

Esha Menon

Deidre Quan

Karthi Kumar

Sean Lee

Zeynep Erturkoglu

Robin Claassen

Amir Pourshafiee

Asami Sato

Mo Shirazi

Terell Sterling

Vijay Veeramachaneni

Kurt Pham

Alan Okida

Jimmy Chim moved to approve the members of the Retreat Committee.

Esha Menon seconded.

Discussion occurred.

June Yuan moved to end the discussion.

Jimmy Chim seconded.

Motion to end the discussion was passed with 16 yes to 3 no votes.

Motion to approve the members of the Retreat Committee was passed unanimously.

The chair moved to allow Junior Senators to serve as chair for the Retreat Committee. Motion to allow Junior Senators to serve as chair for the Retreat Committee was passed unanimously.

Straw Poll Vote of candidates for the chair of the Retreat Committee:

Alan Okida 11 votes Mo Shirazi 5 votes Terell Sterling 5 votes

Anna Shevchenko moved to approve Alan Okida as the chair of the Retreat Committee.

Esha Menon seconded.

Discussion occurred.

Anna Shevchenko moved to end the discussion.

Sean Lee seconded.

Motion to end the discussion was passed by consensus.

Motion to approve Alan Okida as the chair of the Retreat Committee was passed unanimously.

Alan Okida will chair the Retreat Committee.

#### 2. INFORMATION

**Administration Committee** 

This item is to present information to the Senate about the upcoming Senate Meetings.

Presenter: Yujin Yoshimura Time Limit: 5 minutes Information was presented.

# **Announcements**

- Jimmy Chim: Help out with Diversity and Events Committee if you'd like to see things run well this year. Has been working with La Donna already for this next year's events.
- Alan Okida: Would like to talk with members of the Retreat Committee for a few minutes after the meeting.
- John Cognetta: Senators get priority registration so that they can schedule their classes around the meetings.
- Adwin Ho: If anyone has any questions about CES they can come and talk to him. He will not be here for the July 2<sup>nd</sup> meeting.
- Rahela Sami: Please read the updated bylaws.

## **Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators/Junior Senators**

Minseon Kim 1st Meeting Andrei Fomenko 1st Meeting

#### **Appreciations**

Appreciations occurred.

#### **Adjournment**

Terell Sterling adjourned the meeting at 8:20pm.

Submitted by

Jessica Dunlap DASB Secretary Approved Wednesday, July 2, 2008