# **MIUTES** DASB SENATE MEETING Wednesday, June 10, 2009 4:30pm **Student Council Chambers**

<u>Call to Order</u> Terell Sterling called the meeting to order at 4:47pm.

# Roll Call

## 2008-2009 DASB Senators

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Andy Chow	X			
Jack Chuang	X			
Zeynep Erturkoglu		X		
Karthi Kumar	X			
Anson Lai	X			
Calvin Lam	X			
Livia Lee	X			
Sean Lee	X			
Patrick Leung		X		
Melody Lin	X			
Jonathan Mai	X			
Esha Menon	X			
Amie Ngan	X			
Valery Nguyen	X			
Trish Pham	X			
Amir Pourshafiee	X			
Deidre Quan	X			
Asami Sato	X			
Sharon Su	X			
Terell Sterling	X			
Yoshie Takeuchi	X			
John Yan	X			
June Yuan	X			
Michelle Zhong	X		·	

## 2008-2009 DASB Junior Senators

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Arisa Harada	X			
Levon Minassian	X			
Ji Sin	X			
Christine Tran	X			
Sakura Yoshimura	X			

# 2009-2010 DASB Senate Members

<u>Name</u>	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Khalid Ali	X			
Omar Ali	X			
Khoa Bui	X			

Marlo Custodio	X		
Josh Chou	X		
Samera Hadi	X		
Lucas Ho	X		
Keith Hubbard	X		
Wason Huynh	X		
Scarlett Kim	X		
Nicole Lau	X		
Eric Li	X		
Natalie Liu	X		
Lily Loi	X		
Jonathan Mai	X		
Shane Mason	X		
Mayra Miranda	X		
Huan Nguyen	X		
Trish Pham	X		
Amir Pourshafiee	X		
Yang Qiu	X		
Mo Shirazi	X		
Ji Sin	X		
Wayne Spalding	X		
Sharon Su	X		
Bobo Teo	X		
Theresa Thian	X		
Christine Tran	X		
Dora Ventura	X		
John Yan	X		

#### **2009-2010 Prospective Junior Senators**

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Anaruth Hernandez	X			
Levon Minassian	X			

Guests: John Cognetta, Lisa Kirk, Patrick Ahrens, Isabelle Barrientos, Keith Hubbard, Jorj Cheko, Khalid Ali, Mohammad Shirazi, Omar Ali, Satomi Yokoyama, Daniel Mart, Josh Chou, Susan Fugate, Wayne Spalding, Thomasina Russaw, Anson Lai, Susan Chou Fugak, Hamzeh Shirazi, Grace Li, Alan Chen, April Seo, Jorj Cheko, Ernest Chavez, Wason Huynh, Bobo Teo, [name illegible], Dhoreena Ventura, Anaruth Hernandez, Alan Chen, Wing Yan Lau "Nicole", Quynh Nguyen, Khoa Bui, Yang Qiu, Huamin "Eric" Li, Lucas Ho, Huan Nguyen, "Lily" Lai Ieng Loi, "Natalie" Liu Hui Ya, [name illegible], Jose Martin, Peter Lin, Theresa Thian, Alvaro Rosado

## **Approval of Minutes**

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Andy Chow moved to approve the minutes of Wednesday, June 3, 2009 as presented. Jack Chuang seconded.

Motion to approve the minutes of Wednesday, June 3, 2009 as presented was passed by consensus.

## **Public Comments**

Please note: Members of the public are limited to two minutes. The Senate cannot take action or respond to items during public comments.

The Chair moved Public Comments to occur after Business Item #5, Swearing in of New Officers, and there were no objections.

## **Burning Issues**

- Livia Lee: DnE will have a meeting next week. Monday and Tuesday will be final supplies give away and Friday is going to open the De Anza swimming pool for open swim. Wants the old Senate to volunteer if they have the time and to come have fun.
- Asami Sato: Received a call for facilities, but will not be a senator for the next meeting they have. If someone would like to attend, talk to her. If no one is able to attend she can go to this last meeting and report back to the Senate.
- Terell Sterling: For the new Senate, you will need to set up a delegate to represent the Senate at the SSCCC.
- Jonathan Mai: We have two new bulletin boards. We will need to do a lot of cleaning in the next couple weeks.
- Terell Sterling: Asks that the new Senate does not move in immediately so that the current Senate can clean it up.

## **Consent Calendar**

There were no items on the Consent Calendar.

## **Business**

#### 1. INFORMATION

May 2009 Checks of \$500 or Greater

This item is to present the list of checks that were processed by Student Accounts in May 2009 that were \$500 or greater.

Presenter: Lisa Kirk Time Limit: 5 minutes

Information was presented.

#### 2. DISCUSSION/ACTION

Code Revision: Code of Conduct – Second Vote

This item is to approve the changes made to the DASB Code of Conduct for a second

vote.

Presenter: Jonathan Mai Time Limit: 10 minutes

Terell Sterling moved to approve the Code of Conduct as presented for a second vote.

Sharon Su seconded. Discussion occurred.

June Yuan moved to end the discussion.

Michelle Zhong seconded.

Motion to end the discussion was passed by consensus.

Motion to approve the Code of Conduct as presented for a second vote was passed unanimously.

#### 3. DISCUSSION/ACTION

Code Revision: Student Rights and Campus Relations Code – Second Vote

This item is to approve the changes made to the DASB Student Rights and Campus

Relations for a second vote.
Presenter: Jonathan Mai
Time Limit: 10 minutes

Calvin Lam moved to approve the Student Rights and Campus Relations Code as presented for a second vote.

Esha Menon seconded.

Discussion occurred.

Livia Lee moved to end the discussion.

Valery Nguyen seconded.

Motion to end the discussion was passed with 12 yes to 3 no votes.

Motion to approve the Student Rights and Campus Relations Code as presented for a second vote was passed unanimously.

### 4. INFORMATION

Passing Down Words of Wisdom

This item is for Senate to give words of wisdom to the newly elected Senate.

Presenter: DASB Senate 2008-2009

Time Limit: N/A

Information was presented.

## 5. DISCUSSION/ACTION

Swearing in of New Officers

This item is to swear in the newly elected officers.

Presenter: DASB President

Time Limit: N/A

Marlo Custodio was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB President.

Josh Chou was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB Executive Vice President.

Sharon Su was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB Vice President of Budget and Finance.

Mo Shirazi was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB Vice President of Student Rights and Campus Relations.

Jonathan Mai was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB Vice President of Administration.

John Yan was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB Vice President of Marketing and Communications.

Shane Mason was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB Vice President of Diversity and Events

Amir Pourshafiee was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB Vice President of Student Services.

Keith Hubbard was sworn in as the 2009-2010 DASB Vice President of Campus Environment and Sustainability.

All remaining Senators and Junior Senators were sworn in as members of the 2009-2010 DASB Senate.

#### 6. INFORMATION/DISCUSSION/ACTION

Formation of the Retreat Committee

This item is to form the Retreat Committee for the 2009-2010 DASB Senate.

Presenter: Marlo Custodio Time Limit: 15 minutes

Mo Shirazi moved to table Business Item #6, Formation of the Retreat Committee, until the special Senate meeting that will follow today's regular Senate meeting.

Khalid Ali seconded. Discussion occurred.

Bobo Teo moved to end the discussion.

Wayne Spalding seconded.

Motion to end the discussion was passed by consensus.

Motion to table Business Item #6, Formation of the Retreat Committee, until the special Senate meeting that will follow today's regular Senate meeting was passed unanimously.

Mo Shirazi moved to adjourn the meeting.

Bobo Teo seconded.

Motion to adjourn the meeting was passed by consensus at 5:59pm.

## **Informational Reports**

**External Committees** 

**Internal Committees** 

## **Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators/Junior Senators**

#### **Announcements**

## **Adjournment**

Submitted by

Jessica Dunlap DASB Secretary Approved Wednesday, June 17, 2009