

Minutes DASB SENATE MEETING Wednesday, July 7, 2010 4:30 pm Student Council Chambers

Call to Order

Ze Kun Li called the meeting to order at 4:35 pm

Roll Call

Name	Present	Absent	Late	Left Early
Natasha Asar	X			_
Mariam Azhar	X			
Alison Chan	X			
Gloria Cheung		X		
So Choi	X			
Adam Coquia	X			
Ismail Desouki			X- 4:45 pm	
Melanie Dovan		X		
Brenden Fant	X			
Ahmad Fayad		X		
Lena Ghamrawi	X			
Edison Giang			X-4:40 pm	
Anaruth Hernandez	X			
Thoa Hoang	X			
Pamela Jara	X			
Denny Jeon		X		
Priya Kane		X		
Brenda Kristie	X			
Ze-Kun Li	X			
Jarren Lu	X			
Cindy Luu	X			
Ali Masood	X			
Anmol Mirakhur	X			
Leo Nguyen	X			
Victoria Nguyen	X			
Nevin Sarina	X			
Syed Taha		X		
Neesha Tambe	X			
Tevita Tapavalu		X	· 0 1 m	

Excused

Guests: Maw Aung, Alex Mendiola, Cain Ramirez, Sarah Thomason, Balaram Fedchenko, Sean Pham, Omar Ali, Wayne Spalding.

Approval of Minutes

Ali Masood moved to approve the minutes of Wednesday, June 30, 2010 as presented Anaruth Hernandez seconded.

Motion to approve the minutes of Wednesday, June 30, 2010 as presented was passed by consensus.

Public Announcements

Please note: Members of the public are limited to two minutes. The Senate cannot take action or respond to items during public announcements.

Senate Announcements

- 1. Anaruth Hernandez-ES chose Brenda Kristie to be the Vice Chair.
- 2. Adam Coquia We are going to try and decide whether or not we would do Senate trips this year. I will notify the Senate of any decisions we make.
- 3. Leo Nguyen Finance Committee appointed Victoria Nguyen as the Vice Chair and Jarren Lu as the Business Communications Officer. We also had the Budget Orientation meeting today. I would like to thank to John, La Donna and Dennis for their help.

Consent Calendar

1. Approve the following Senate members' leave of absence.

Senator	Reason for Absence	Absence End Date	
Mariam Azhar	Brother's Wedding	09/15/2010	
Gloria Cheung	Visiting Home	09/08/2010	
Ismail Desouki	Berkeley Class	Not specified	
Brenden Fant	Hawaii trip	Not specified	
Ahmad Fayad	Camping	07/19/2010	
Taha Syed	Visiting Home	09/08/2010	
Tevita Tapavalu	Visiting Home	08/21/2010	

So Choi moved to table the item.

Nevin Serina seconded.

Motion to table the item was passed by consensus.

Business

1. INFORMATION/DISCUSSION/ACTION

Title: Selection of four non-committee officers.

This item is to discuss and vote the Intramural Affairs Officer, the Legislative Affairs Officer, Historian and Website Manager into office.

Presenter: Ze Kun Li Time Limit: 30 minutes

Ze Kun Li presented the item.

Discussion occurred.

Leo Nguyen nominated Anmol Mirakhur as the Intramural Affairs Officer. Anmol Mirakhur accepted nomination

Anaruth Hernandez nominated Alison Chan as the Intramural Affairs Officer. Alison Chan accepted nomination

Victoria Nguyen nominated Pamela Jara as the Intramural Affairs Officer.

Pamela Jara accepted nomination.

Edison Giang moved to nominate Ismail Desouki as the Intramural Affairs Officer. Ismail Desouki initially accepted but later withdrew from the nomination.

Brenda Kristie moved to extend time by 15 minutes

Brenden Fant moved to strike 15 to 10 minutes

Pamela Jara seconded

Anaruth Hernandez moved to strike 10 and make it 25 minutes Cindy Luu seconded.

Motion to extend time by 25 minutes was passed by consensus

Anmol Mirakhur – 10 votes Pamela Jara– 6 votes Alison Chan – 3 votes

Anmol Mirakhur was elected as the Intramural Affairs Officer.

Thoa Hoang nominated Pamela Jara as the Legislative Affairs Officer. Pamela Jara accepted nomination.

Leo Nguyen nominated Ismail Desouki as the Legislative Affairs Officer. Ismail Desouki accepted nomination.

Ismail Desouki– 14 votes Pamela Jara – 3 votes

Ismail Desouki was elected as the Legislative Affairs Officer.

Edison Giang nominated Cindy Luu to be the Historian Cindy Luu accepted nomination.

Ali Masood nominated Pamela Jara as the Historian.

Pamela Jara denied nomination.

Cindy Luu – 18 votes

Cindy Luu was elected as the Historian.

Nevin Sarina moved to table the item.

Ali Masood seconded.

Motion to table the item was passed by consensus.

2. INFORMATION/DISCUSSION/ACTION

Title: Shared Governance Committee Members selection

This item is to inform the senate of the various Shared Governance Committees and decide who will be the liaison for each committee.

Presenter: Neesha Tambe Time Limit: 30 minutes

Neesha Tambe presented the item.

3. INFORMATION/DISCUSSION

Title: Star Of The Week

This item is to enhance relations between Senators by giving every individual, the opportunity to share a bit about themselves.

Presenter: Ze Kun Li Time Limit: 10 minutes

Ze Kun Li presented the item.

Introduction/Approval of Prospective Senators

Please make sure to have attended at least 3 senate meetings and submitted your application.

Sarah Thomason – 5th meeting Maw Aung – 4th meeting Sean Pham – 3rd meeting Balaram Fedchenko – 3rd meeting

Senate Announcements

Neesha Tambe—It's a pleasure to see the meeting going so well today. I deeply appreciate everyone for keeping the Student Council Chambers clean. There was no food on the tables or any other sort of trash lying around the room when we started. Let us all continue to make it this way.

Also, prospective senators/junior senators, please turn in your applications a week prior to the meeting when you would be running. Thank you.

Ze Kun Li – I scheduled the Senate Cleanup to be this Friday at 10 am. I am expecting everybody to show up and help.

Public Announcements

Please note: Members of the public are limited to two minutes. The Senate cannot take action or respond to items during public announcements.

Adjournment

Ze Kun Li adjourned the meeting at 5:54 pm

Submitted by,

Harshawardhan Lanjewar DASB Secretary Approved Wednesday, July 21, 2010