DE ANZA COLLEGE FILM/TV DEPARTMENT & CREATIVE ARTS DIVISION

PRESENT



THE 44TH ANNUAL STUDENT FILM & VIDEO SHOW

FRIDAY JUNE 2ND 7:00PM VISUAL & PERFORMING ARTS CENTER

ADMISSION FREE

16th ANNUAL SCREENPLAY COMPETITION

Below are the finalists for the 16th Annual Screenplay Competition, listed in alphabetical order. The winner is selected by a juror and will be announced the night of the show.

Bardia Samia The Night at Sharif

Adam Strauss Pushed Around

Darlena Trinh Find a Way

Juror: **Cole Quirk** is a screenwriter and playwright who assisted writers on *CSI: Crime Scene Investigation* (CBS), *The 100* (CW), *Resurrection* (ABC), *Scream* (MTV), and *Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist* (NBC). Her play *I'm Jennifer Mother F*cking Lawrence* which she wrote and directed premiered to critical acclaim in the Hollywood Fringe Festival. She sold a feature to Hallmark and was a staff writer on *Justified: City Primeval* (FX). Cole is a graduate of UCLA's MFA screenwriting program.

STUDENT ACHIEVEMENTS 2022-2023

Collaboration between the Film/TV and Communications DepartmentsMariana Acosta, Kyle Chimienti, Lana Hagog and Thomas Pelino

Riekes Center celebration of Bay Area filmmakers and student panel presentation Eilon Presman, Ray Teoh

De Anza SMPTE Student Chapter hosting the annual SMPTE PanelPanel discussions by industry professionals from Dolby, Google, LinkedIn, and others

Please consider giving a donation to support the Chadwick Okamoto Awards.

Gifts are tax deductible and will directly support students in the Film/TV Department programs at De Anza College.

Go to https://secure.donationpay.org/fhda/ to make a gift via the secure website.

Designate "De Anza" and "Other: Chadwick Okamoto Award"

OR

Print Gift Form and attach check payable to "FHDA Foundation." Please indicate "Other: Chadwick Okamoto Award" at "De Anza" on Gift Form and memo line of check.

Mail to: FHDA Foundation, 12345 El Monte Road, Los Altos Hills, CA 94022

Thank you!

STUDENT SHORTS PROGRAM

Some material may be inappropriate for viewers under 17 years of age due to profanity, violence and disturbing content. Jurors: Film/TV Department Faculty and Staff.

| Morph | Class Exercise | F/TV 67A Principles of Animation: 2D Media | 1:29 |
|-------------------------|---|--|-------|
| iBully Security | Carmen Navarrete | F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production | 2:20 |
| Vinyl | Ray Teoh | F/TV 22 Beginning 16mm Motion Pic Prod | 4:01 |
| Something in the Orange | Mouna El Milahi | F/TV 26 Intro to Film/Television Directing | 5:21 |
| Antifragile | Nika Arasteh | F/TV 27 Nonlinear Editing | 9:25 |
| Porter | Naksavang Dickerson | F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production | 1:40 |
| Breakfast Munch | Karina Villalobos | F/TV 72GHJ Animated Film Workshop | :56 |
| Perfectly Imperfect | Lana Hagog | F/TV 39 Int. Digital Film & Video Production | 10:00 |
| Eco Mobsters | Dewayani, Lilienthal- Wynn, Shah, Zatarain | F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production | 3:33 |
| Family Tree | Nicolas Biala | F/TV 26 Intro to Film/Television Directing | 7:41 |
| In the Beginning | Mariana Acosta | F/TV 39 Int. Digital Film & Video Production | 4:00 |
| The Camera | Brandon Woo Andrew Woo | F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production | 5:31 |
| Now | Bryan Anthony Ruiz | F/TV 66A Basic Tech. of Anim: Stop Motion | 3:45 |
| Deserted | Jesús Nava | F/TV 26 Intro to Film/Television Directing | 2:12 |
| Clocked | Lauren Wolfe | F/TV 26 Intro to Film/Television Directing | 4:16 |
| Above the Dream Tower | Andre Zambrana | F/TV 72GHJ Animated Film Workshop | 4:39 |
| An Undying Love | Shannon Silva | F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production | 3:34 |
| Who is Left | Eilon Presman | F/TV 26 Intro to Film/Television Directing | 6:17 |
| Time is a Lover | Andy Doan | F/TV 22 Beginning 16mm Motion Pic Prod | 5:23 |
| Cheetos Commercial | Brandon Woo Andrew Woo | F/TV 20 Beginning Video Production | 1:00 |
| Trapped | Bardia Samia | F/TV 26 Intro to Film/Television Directing | 6:21 |

Sponsored by the Creative Arts Division

Special Acknowledgments

Daniel Smith, Dean of Creative Arts
Thomas Ray, Interim Associate Vice President, Instruction
Marisa Spatafore, Associate Vice President, Communications & External Relations
Christina G. Espinosa-Pieb, Vice President of Instruction
Lloyd A. Holmes, President of De Anza College
Judy C. Miner, Chancellor of the Foothill-De Anza College District

Foothill-De Anza Community College District Board of Trustees:
Patrick J. Ahrens, Laura Casas, Pearl Cheng, Peter Landsberger, Gilbert Wong
Chamu Palaniappan (Foothill Student Trustee), Pierce Tao (De Anza Student Trustee)

Foothill-De Anza Foundation Staff:

Dennis Cima, Victoria Dinh, Leigh Howell, Robin Latta, Kathy Nguyen, Melanie Reilly, Lindsay West

Film/TV Department Faculty

Milena Grozeva Levy, Mark Hamer, Joshua Losben, Rachel Silveria, Susan Tavernetti (Emerita)

Part-time Faculty

Joel Abramson, Kristen Anderson, Genevieve Freckelton, Thomas Gamburg, Warren Haack, Dennis Irwin, Alexandra Lacey, Michael Parks, Cole Quirk, Eduardo Rufeisen, Ingrid Schultz, Drew Todd, John Wise, Christina Wright

Staff

Edward Breault (Video Systems Engineer), André Meggerson, Fernando Perez De La Rosa

Program Design

Rachel Silveria (Cover Art), Mark Hamer (Program Layout)

Office of Communications Brandon Bailey, Edwin Carungay, Juan Diaz, Alex Harrell, Steven Nguyen, Chelsey Taniquchi

Special Thanks
Nancy and Al Okamoto

As a courtesy to all patrons and performers please turn off all electronic devices. Cameras and tape recorders may not be used during performances/exhibits. No smoking, food or beverages are allowed in college facilities. Please note the nearest exit, in the unlikely event of an emergency.