Sunken Garden Fountain

Classified Senate

Executive Council and Senator Elections for 2017-2018

  • Thursday, May 25, 2017  1:30-3:00 p.m.
    California History Center Patio


Each spring, a Classified Senate election committee is formed by direction of the outgoing Classified Senate President to elect Executive Council members and Senators in sections where a senate term has expired. 

Classified Professionals: Please consider serving on this vital shared governance committee. Current senators will be recruiting nominees for open positions. We need you!

Please submit nominations online (preferred) or in hard copy format to Keri Kirkpatrick c/o Library Services no later than Tuesday, May 23, 2017.

We encourage your participation if you have never been an Executive Council member, or Senator, or it has been awhile since you served. You may nominate yourself.

  • Download and Submit a Nomination Form. (To be posted by late April 2017)
  • For a description of officer and senator responsibilities, see Bylaw III and IV sections of the Classified Senate Bylaws (PDF).
Executive Council
  • President (one-year term)
  • President-Elect (one year term plus term as President following year)
  • Secretary (one-year term)
  • Treasurer (one-year term)
  • Communications Officer (one-year term)

Section 1 – A Quad, Creative Arts, District Police, Baldwin Winery (two-year term)

Section 2 – Registration & Student Services Building: Bookstore, Assessment, DSS, Community Education (two-year term)

Section 5 – Physical Education and Adapted Physical Education, and Mod Quad (two-year term)

Section 6 – Kirsch Center, Environmental Studies Area, HTCTU, Science Resource Center, Auto Technology, Child Development Center (two-year term)

Section 7 – All S and E Buildings, Planetarium and Seminar Buildings (two-year term)

Section 12 – Campus Center, Lower Level – Food Services/Custodial, Health Services, College Life, EOPS, Flea Market (two-year term)

Section 13 – Admin. Bldg. – Finance/College Services, Academic Services, Marketing, Evening Coordinator, Pres/VP Offices, Mail Room (two-year term)



  • Election to a Classified Senate office shall be by simple majority of the votes cast.
  • If no candidate receives a simple majority of the votes cast, a special election shall be held to decide between the two (2) candidates receiving the highest number of votes for that office.
  • Announcement of the election results will be made within two (2) working days.

If you have any questions, contact one of the Senate Executive Council members:

2016-2017 President - Karen Hunter x8229

2016-2017 Secretary - Tracy Chung-Tabangcura x8977

2016-2017 Treasurer - Melissa Ingalls x8773

2016-2017 Communications Officer - Dennis Shannakian x8757


Classified Senate
Contact: Dennis Shannakian
Phone: 408-864-8757


Last Updated: 6/1/17