2022-23 Academic Year

We're proud of all our students, faculty and classified professionals at De Anza College. Here are some examples of what makes De Anza "simply the best."

La Voz Students Win Spring Contests

La Voz logoStudent members of the La Voz newspaper staff won numerous awards during the Spring National College Media Conference held in San Francisco this past weekend. La Voz staffers won first, second and third-place awards in 10 contests sponsored by the California College Media Association, and another 12 awards in contests sponsored by the Journalism Association of Community Colleges. These included first-place awards won by Autumn Alvarez, Trevis Dampier and Jocelyn Phanmaha.

In addition, La Voz Managing Editor Andrea Saldana was elected for a one-year term as the Northern California representative to the Journalism Association of Community Colleges. Three former La Voz students – who are currently attending San José State – also won awards for their work at the San José State student publication.

Athletes Earn Academic Distinction

Two De Anza athletics teams won statewide recognition for their academic performance as well as their athletic achievements: The women’s Badminton and Cross Country teams have been designated as Scholar Teams by the California Community College Athletic Association.

2022 women's badminton team

Women's Badminton Team

2022 women's cross country team

Women's Cross Country Team

The honor is based on overall team grade point averages as well as athletic achievement for 2021-2022. De Anza badminton players earned a 3.58 team GPA last year, while ending their season undefeated and winning the CCCAA state championship. In cross country, the women’s team earned a combined 3.50 GPA. Both teams were honored in a Celebration of Scholar Athletes on March 29, during the CCCAA statewide convention in Sacramento.

Students Chosen for Health Pathways Program

student in white lab coat looking into microscope

Six students from De Anza were selected in February to participate in a new Pathways in Health Technology program, designed to introduce students from diverse backgrounds to career opportunities in the health tech field through mentoring and hands-on group projects.

The six students are Jacqueline Fernandez Ortega, Donnel Gray, Emma Sawaya, Silmi Sultaan Ali Khowaja Pulido, Arlyne Torres and Sophia Weissinger.

The eight-week program was created by the nonprofit Diversity by Doing (DxD) HealthTech in partnership with the Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign, Fogarty Innovation and five local medical device companies. Students who complete the program will receive a $1,000 grant funded by the Advanced Medical Technology Association (AdvaMed) in collaboration with MedTech Color.

Film Students' Work Highlighted

film student panelTwo De Anza film students had their work screened at the Short Film Showcase hosted by the Riekes Center in Menlo Park on Feb 5.

The films by students Ray Teoh and Eilon Presman drew praise from Riekes Center program director Julio Deras, who said, “I’m so impressed by their technical quality and narrative strength. Something special is happening at De Anza!”

Presman also participated in a panel discussion after the screenings.

Business Students Recognized for Outstanding Work 

California Future Business LeadersA group of De Anza Business students have been recognized for outstanding work in case study competitions hosted by the California Future Business Leaders of America Collegiate Division.

Han Htun, Ashley Vuong and Caitlyn Richardson were awarded second place in the Sustainability Goals for Firms Case Study competition. Htet Myat Lin Tun, Yankee Chou, Reeya Randhawa and Britney Calimlim took third place in the Business Management Case Study Competition.

Future Business Leaders is a national organization dedicated to preparing students to become "community-minded business leaders in a global society through relevant career preparation and leadership experiences."

Journalism Students Win Awards

La Voz logoDe Anza journalism students won 15 awards at the Northern California conference of the Journalism Association of Community Colleges, held on Oct 22 – including a General Excellence award to the staff of the La Voz News, first place to Nathan Canilao for profile feature story writing and first place to Michael Davis for critical review writing.

The awards were for the work of students in the current quarter as well as the winter and spring quarters. Additional award winners included: Laura Atkinson, Thi Khan Linh (Lauren) Bui, Rory Conlon, Andrea Infante, Kevin Nguyen, E.W. Park, Yvonne Phan, Maida Suta and Jessie Zhou.

De Anza Alum Honored in Literary Contest

League for Innovation logoFormer De Anza student Julian Parayno-Stoll took third place – and a $100 prize – over the summer in the poetry category of the 2021-22 International Student Literary and Art Awards, sponsored by the League for Innovation in the Community College.

Parayno-Stoll's winning poem, "Sugarcane cavity," was also published in the 2021 student edition of Red Wheelbarrow, the De Anza student literary magazine. He was an editor last year at “Red Wheelbarrow,” and is now attending San Francisco State University, where his goal is to earn a master’s degree in English Language and Literature.

Back to Top