Meeting Notes - February 22, 2011

IPBT Notes - February 22, 2011


Christina Espinosa-Pieb

Coleen Lee-Wheat

I. Review of notes:

February 8 and 15 notes approved

II. Good of the Order:  

A report from SSBPT and Classified Senate regarding the outcomes of a facilitated conversation about “What is our Core” was made. Keypoints: Themes of “student-centered” and including students in the upcoming conversations; staff concerns about ensuring that the communication loop is created and encouraging as much transparency about the IPBT’s process were noted. It was reported that Englen, Knittle and Clarke-Tillman will be hosting brown bag lunches to encourage input from their constituents as well as to share information about what the IPBT is working on. Note: IPBT Meetings will start at 3:30pm for the rest of the quarter.

III. Annual Program Review Update - Mock:

 The purpose of the exercise was to determine if an analysis of the APRU will yield information that will lend to the IPBT’s ability to objectively evaluate a program. The decision processes that will lead to the eventual outcome of making a proposal to College Council in regards to program reduction or elimination needs to be as clearly organized as possible. How would a dean evaluate this program--was a question that was discussed. Bryant emphasized that the integrity of a department’s APRU work should be remain intact. A dean should have a college-wide perspective. The deans agreed that communicating that perspective to program review writers is critical to the process. Section A of the form was discussed. Bryant emphasized that the questions on the form should be linked to the data that is available. Lee-Wheat emphasized that the APRU will not be the only tool used perform the evaluations. The 2008 comprehensive program review and interviews of program personnel are two other tools that will be used.

Administrative Reps

Classified Reps

Faculty Reps

Student Reps

Christina Espinosa-Pieb, Co-Chair -- absent

Mary Clark-Tillman --absent

Randy Bryant

Amira Fahah

Ron McFarland

Mary Kay Englen

Catie Cadge-Moore--absent

Meera Suresh

Edmundo Norte

Greg Knittel

Cinzia Muzzi -- absent

 Guests: Faith Milonas

Rich Schroeder

Coleen Lee-Wheat, Co-Chair

 Gregory Anderson

Rowena Tomaneng

Kulwant Singh

Cheryl Woodward

Thomas Ray

Robert Stockwell

Back to Top