Meeting Notes - October 5, 2010

IPBT Notes - October 5, 2010 4:00 - 5:00 PM


Christina Espinosa-Pieb

Coleen Lee-Wheat

I. Welcome & Introductions:

The IPBT will meet weekly. Members will be notified through the meeting maker about time/location/cancellations. Rich Hansen’s requested that his name was included on the meeting maker so that he could ensure that a FA rep. was always invited. It was also emphasized that this was an open meeting.

II. Annual Program Review Update - Sharing:

The goal of continuing to review the outcomes of the inaugural Annual Program Review Update form in order to have a form ready for faculty use by November was set as a priority. The group will work to set up a standardized feedback for program review writers such that outcomes’ assessment and resource allocation can be increasingly “married” over the next 6 years. The outcome would be such that the comprehensive program review before the site visit of 16-17 will be a culmination of 6 years of resource allocation based on continuous quality improvement and department/program planning.

III. Plan for Selection of 11-12 Faculty Hires:

Adding the assessment results of the Annual Program Review Updates to the current criteria for upcoming hires shall be a topic of future discussion. Eventually, the assessment results on the Annual Program Review should “trigger” a desire to bring people in to further elaborate upon their resource requests. A call for hiring requests will ensue shortly after the final State Budget is issued.

IV. Good of the Order:

Lee-Wheat will determine if C. Cadgemoore’s class conflict with the meeting schedule is acceptable with the Academic Senate Officers.
Espinosa-Pieb described the process through which the Biology Division was able to hire to very well qualified environmental science department faculty. This result was a combination of many factors many driven by the fact that the college was on its way to not meeting the requirements of AB1725 , part-time to full-time faculty ratio. The hires were also based on the IPBT’s priority list from last year. IPBT members were asked to share details to their constituents.

Attended ( ): italics means non-voting member

Administrative Reps

Classified Reps

Faculty Reps

Student Reps

Christina Espinosa-Pieb, Co-Chair

Donna Bradshaw

Randy Bryant

Lena Ghamrawi

Ron McFarland

Bradley Creamer

Catie Cadge-Moore

Edmundo Norte

Greg Knittel

Cinzia Muzzi

 Guests: Rich Hansen, FA;

Rich Schroeder

Coleen Lee-Wheat, Co-Chair

 Cheryl Woodward, Counseling

Rowena Tomaneng

Kulwant Singh

Dean of Counseling

Robert Stockwell

Back to Top