Meeting Notes - May 17, 2011

Meeting Notes - May 17, 2011

I. Review of Process for May 19 and 20:

The schedule was reviewed. See attached. Instructors were encouraged to find substitutes. Unfortunately, the Dean’s were not all able to submit their proposals this weekend. Hard copies were distributed to each of the IPBT members. Soft copies are also available on the IPBT website. Enrollment data for students who already have degrees will also be added to the website.

It was emphasized that the Dean’s had been encouraged to bring their department chairs to the gatherings Thursday, May 19 and 20 to share their thoughts. The gatherings are meant to be a sharing of information. The IPBT members are encouraged to ask impromptu questions.

The IPBT will then forward the proposals with recommendations to the college council after further discussion on Tuesday, May 24. The College Council will then forward a report as requested by the BOT so that they will be able to inform the public as to how devastating an “all cuts” budget would be to the FHDA district and its students.

Since the State budget report on Monday, May 21 encourages a more positive outcome such that the district MAY be able to weather next year 2011-12 with reserves. 2012-13 reduction plans must still be made. And, depending upon the level of reduction, the IPBT will be recommending a redistribution of funding based upon student need next Fall.

II. Working groups gathered and studied the division proposals. Questions from the IPBT teams will be sent this evening for distribution to the Dean’s and their department chairs to consider.

A = Action | D = Discussion  | I = Info 

Online =


Attended ( ): italics means non-voting member

Administrative Reps

Classified Reps

Faculty Reps

Student Reps

Christina Espinosa-Pieb, Co-Chair--

Donna Bradshaw-guest

Randy Bryant

Amira Fahah,- absent Meera

Ron McFarland--

Mary Kay Englen-guest

Catie Cadge-Moore


Edmundo Norte--

Greg Knittel

Cinzia Muzzi


Rich Schroeder--

April Qian

Coleen Lee-Wheat, Co-Chair

Faith Milonas

Rowena Tomaneng--

Kulwant Singh

Cheryl Woodward

Thomas Ray--

Robert Stockwell


Back to Top