General Meeting Information

Date: April 13, 2021
Time: 4:00 - 5:00 PM
Location: RSVP -

  • Agenda

    Time Topic Purpose Discussion Leader
    4:00 - 4:05 Approval of Notes – March 23, 2021 A Mary Pape
    4:05 - 4:10 DASG Report I Dadbhawala/Eloy/Lim/Sharma
    4:10 - 5:00 Review of Faculty Positions I/D Espinosa-Pieb, King, Pape

    A = Action D = Discussion I = Information





    Affinity Group


    Christina Espinosa-Pieb,


    Sam Bliss

    Randy Bryant

    Alicia Cortez

    Anita Muthyala-Kandula

    Lorrie Ranck

    Thomas Ray

    Heidi King – Co-Chair


      Thomas Bailey

      Christiana Kaleialii

      Lorna Maynard

    Mary Pape, Co-Chair


    Mayra Cruz

    DuJuan Green

    Salvador Guerrero

    Mark Landefeld

    Terrence Mullens

    Daniel Solomon


    Grace Lim

    Arushi Sharma

    Esha Dadbhawala

    Luiza Eloy


      Melinda Hughes

      Pauline Wethington


      Christine Chai

      Khoa Nguyen


      Eric Mendoza

      Felisa Vilaubi

  • Minutes

    IPBT meeting – April 13, 2021

    Tri-chairs: Christina G. Espinosa-Pieb, Mary Pape, Heidi King

    Administrative reps: Sam Bliss, Randy Bryant, Alicia Cortez, Christina Espinosa-Pieb, Anita Muthyala-Kandula, Lorrie Ranck

    Classified reps: Thomas Bailey, Christiana Kaleialii, Heidi King, Lorna Maynard

    Faculty reps: DuJuan Green, Salvador Guerrero, Mark Landefeld, Terrence Mullens, Mary Pape, Daniel Solomon, Erik Woodbury

    Student reps: Luiza Eloy, Arushi Sharma, Grace Lim, Esha Dadbhawala

    Affinity Group Representatives:

    Black Faculty, Staff and Administrators (BFSA): Melinda Hughes, Pauline Wethington

    The Asian Pacific American Staff Association (APASA): Christine Chai, Khoa Nguyen

    De Anza Latinx Association (DALA): Eric Mendoza, Felisa Vilaubi

    Absent: Thomas Ray,  Mayra Cruz,

    Guests: Lisa Markus, Vins Chacko, Daniel Smith, Kulwant Singh, Francesca Caparas, Sharon Utomo (DASB), Lisa Ly, Susan Ho, Mary Donahue, Edmundo Norte, Rick Maynard, Mallory Newell, Karen Chow, Erik Woodbury, Thomas Ray

    Approval of Notes for March 23, 2021 Meeting – IPBT meeting notes were approved as written.

    De Anza Student Government Report: Arushi Sharma asked that faculty make suggestions for students to serve on shared governance for the year 2021-22. DASG will be having the first meeting for the spring quarter on 4/14.

    Review of Faculty Positions: Christina presented list of 15 open positions. There is funding for eleven. Five of the positions were highlighted as directly focused on equity: Faculty Director - Equity Office, AAPI Cohort Counselor, Asian American Studies Instructor, Chicanx/Latinx Studies Instructor, and Head Football Coach/REACH Coordinator. Four other positions were highlighted as also supporting equity while not being typical instructional teaching positions: English Performance Success (EPS) Counselor (2), Librarian - Multicultural Resource Specialist, and Mathematics Instructor - Math Performance Success (MPS).

    The fifteen positions come from retirements, and resignations, or from positions that were not approved on last year's list. The list and vacancies were confirmed by the individual division deans.

    For the 2020-21 there was funding for eight positions but the Supplementary Retirement Plan (SRP) positions could not be replaced. This led to a defunct list of resigned/retirement positions. Thus, an interim process was used where all requests from the Program Review comprised the preliminary list. From a list of approximately 40 requests, the IPBT members of the 2019-20 academic chose 22 positions to prioritize using IPBT’s quantitative process. The process used this year reverts back to pre-SRP process.

    IPBT members representing students, Classified Professionals, and other members requested more time to bring the lists of 5 and 9 positions back to their constituencies. Daniel Solomon requested to take an advisory vote to see how many IPBT members were ready to vote on moving forward with the hiring of the five or the nine proposed positions. The vote to move forward with the vote at current meeting was 15 members. The remaining 13 committee members expressed discontent on taking the vote on the same day the information was presented and requested more time. However, despite the strong opposition, the committee moved forward with the votes.

    The final count was 3 in favor of moving forward with 5 positions only and 17 in favor of moving forward with all nine.

    For the next meeting, after affirming the process to be utilized, prioritization for two of the remaining six positions needs to be begun.

Documents and Links

Back to Top