placeholding image for one-page faculty site

Dr. Cheryl Jaeger Balm - Math

MATH 217 - Integrated Statistics I (STATWAY)

CRN

Schedule ID

Location


34631

MATH-217-05

S 54 and S 42


  • MTWThF 10:30 a.m. - 12:20 p.m.
  • 5 Units

Syllabus in downloadable PDF icon PDF 

MPS/Statway counselor and faculty office hours in downloadable PDF icon PDF

Lesson 1.1.2 and Lesson 1.1.3 from the textbook in downloadable PDF icon PDFs 

Online reading and homework

My office hours are in S-41:

  • Monday through Thursday 10:00-10:25
  • Tuesday 12:30-1:20
  • Tuesday and Wednesday 3:50-4:15

Dedicated Statway tutoring is available:

  • Tuesday and Wednesday 12:30-1:20 in S-41
  • Thursday 12:30-1:20 in S-43K

Lab instructions and policies

Lab data sets: rateMP.MPJ, beers.MPJ, and CalRainfall.MPJ

  Assignment Due Dates   Class Calendar
Week Assignment Source Due Date Week Date Covered in Class
1 Syllabus HW Handout/email Tues., Jan. 10 1 M 1/9  Start 1.1.1
Take it home 1.1.1  Textbook Wed., Jan. 11 T 1/10  Finish 1.1.1, 1.1.2
Take it home 1.1.2  Textbook Thur., Jan. 12

W 1/11

Lab Day

1.1.3
Statway survey Online Thur., Jan. 12
Take it home 1.1.3 Textbook Fri., Jan. 13 Th 1/12 1.2.1
Checkpoint 1.1.3  Online Fri., Jan 13 F 1/13 1.2.2
2 Take it home 1.2.1 Textbook Tues., Jan. 17 2

M 1/16

No Class
Checkpoint 1.2.1 Online Tues., Jan. 17 T 1/17 1.2.3
Take it home 1.2.2 Textbook  Wed., Jan. 18 W 1/18 Intro to Minitab Lab
Take it home 1.2.3 Textbook  Thur., Jan. 19 Th 1/19 1.3.1 - headphones!
    F 1/20 2.1.1
3 Checkpoint 1.3.1 Online Sun., Jan. 22 3 M 1/23 

Module 1 quiz  

2.1.2

Ckpt Module 1 Online Sun., Jan. 23 
Take it home 1.3.1 Textbook Mon., Jan. 23  T 1/24 2.2.1
Take it home 2.1.1 Textbook  Tues., Jan. 24 W 1/25

Start 2.3.1;

Descriptive Stats Lab

Intro to Minitab Lab Lab 1 Tues., Jan. 24
Take it home 2.1.2 Textbook Wed., Jan. 25 Th 1/26

Finish 2.3.1, 2.4.1,

Empirical rule

Ckpt 2.1.1 & 2.1.2 Online Wed., Jan. 25
Take it home 2.2.1 Textbook Thur., Jan. 26 F 1/27 Linear Models Part 1
Checkpoint 2.2.1 Online Thur., Jan. 26

Take it home 2.3.1 Textbook Fri., Jan. 27
Checkpoint 2.3.1 Online Fri., Jan. 27
4 Checkpoint 2.4.1 Online Sun., Jan. 29 4 M 1/30

Module 2 quiz

Lin. Models Part 2;

Start 11.1.1

Ckpt Module 2 Online Sun., Jan. 29
Take it home 2.4.1 Textbook Mon., Jan. 30 T 1/31 Finish 11.1.1, 11.1.2
Descriptive stats lab Lab 2 Tues., Jan. 31
W 2/1 Review day

Take it home

Linear Functions 1

Worksheets Tues., Jan. 31 Th 2/2 Exam 1
F 2/3 3.1.1, 3.1.2

Take it home

Linear Functions 2

Worksheets  Wed., Feb. 1       
Take it home 11.1.1 Textbook Thur., Feb. 2
Take it home 11.1.2 Textbook Thur., Feb. 2
Take it home 3.1.1 Textbook Tues., Feb. 7 M 2/6 3.1.3
Take it home 3.1.2 Textbook Tues., Feb. 7 T 2/7 3.2.1, 3.2.2
Take it home 3.1.3 Textbook Wed., Feb. 8 W 2/8 Regression Lab
Ckpt 3.1.1-3.1.3 Online Wed., Feb. 8 Th 2/9 3.2.3
Take it home 3.2.1 Textbook Thur., Feb. 9 F 2/10 3.3.1
Take it home 3.2.2 Textbook Thur., Feb. 9   
6 Ckpt 3.2.1-3.2.4 Online Sun., Feb. 12 6 M 2/13 3.3.2; start 4.2.1
Take it home 3.2.3 Textbook Mon., Feb. 13 T 2/14

Module 3 quiz; finish

4.2.1, start 4.2.2

Ckpt 3.3.1-3.3.2 Online Mon., Feb. 13
Ckpt Module 3 Online Mon., Feb. 13 W 2/15 Finish 4.2.1, 4.3.1
Take it home 3.3.1 Textbook Tues., Feb. 14 Th 2/16 4.3.2, start 11.3.1
Take it home 3.3.2 Textbook Tues., Feb. 14 F 2/17 No class
Regression lab Lab 3 Tues., Feb. 14

 
Take it home 4.2.1 Worksheets  Thur., Feb. 16
Take it home 4.2.2 Worksheets  Thur., Feb. 16
7 Take it home 4.3.1 Worksheets  Tues., Feb. 21 7 M 2/20 No class
Take it home 4.3.2 Worksheets  Tues., Feb. 21 T 2/21

Module 3 re-quiz

Finish 11.3.1

Ckpt Mod. 3 (redo) Online Tues., Feb. 21

Take it home 11.3.1

(#1-4 only)

Textbook Thur., Feb. 23 W 2/22 4.1.1
Th 2/23 4.1.2
Take it home 4.1.1  Textbook Fri., Feb. 24 F 2/24 Review
8 Ckpt Module 4 Online Sun., Feb. 26 8 M 2/27 Exam 2
Take it home 4.1.2 Textbook Mon., Feb. 27 T 2/28 5.1.1, 5.1.2
Take it home 5.1.1 Textbook Thur., Mar. 2 W 3/1

5.1.3

2-way Tables Lab

popular.mpj data set

Take it home 5.1.2 Textbook Thur., Mar. 2
Ckpt Module 5 Online Thur., Mar. 2 Th 3/2 6.1.1
Take it home 5.1.3 Textbook Fri., Mar. 3 F 3/3

Module 5 quiz

6.1.2

 
9 Take it home 6.1.1 Textbook Mon., Mar. 6 9 M 3/6 6.1.3, 6.2.1
Take it home 6.1.2 Textbook Tues., Mar. 7 T 3/7 6.2.2
2-way Tables Lab Lab 4 Tues., Mar. 7 W 3/8 Simulation Lab
Take it home 6.1.3 Textbook Wed., Mar. 8 Th 3/9

6.2.3

Take it home 6.2.1 Textbook Wed., Mar. 8 F 3/10  

Review Module 6

Module 6 quiz
Ckpt 6.1.1-6.1.3 Online Wed., Mar. 8
Take it home 6.2.2 Textbook Thur., Mar. 9          
Ckpt 6.2.1-6.2.3 Online Thur., Mar. 9
Ckpt Module 6 Online Thur., Mar. 9
Take it home 6.2.3 Textbook Fri., Mar. 10
10 Simulation Lab Lab 5 Tues., Mar. 14 10 M 3/13 Review



 
T 3/14 Exam 3
W 3/15 Review Modules 1-2
Th 3/16 Review Modules 3-4
F 3/17 11.3.2
11 Take it home 11.3.2 Textbook Tues., Mar. 21 11 M 3/20 Standardized final

Take it home Quadr.

Worksheets Thur., Mar. 23 T 3/21 Start quadratic fns.
       W 3/22 Finish quadratic fns.
Th 3/23

Quadratic quiz

Review

      
F 3/24 Review

 

Final Exam: Thur., Mar. 30 9:15 - 11:15

 

Section 1.1.1: Dot plot generator, Getting to Know You Survey



Contact
email icon Email: Cheryl Jaeger Balm


Math
sizeplaceholder


Last Updated: 3/17/17