Notes - October 23rd, 2006

De Anza Academic Senate

Approved Notes for the meeting of

October 23rd, 2006

Senators and Officers present: Bambhania, Capitolo, Chenoweth, Cole,  Coleman, Cordero, Dolen, Gallegos, Glapion, Goodwin, Hearn, Jensen-Sullivan, Joplin, Kang, Kessler, Kramer,  Lathers,  Lizardi-Foley, Lee-Klawender,  Maynard,  Mowrey, Osborne,  Raffaelli, Schaffer, Setziol, and Zill

Senators and Officers absent: Bresnan, Hertler, Khanna, Miller, and Winters,

DASB: Celeste Enriquez and Sam Karimzadeh

Classified Senate: Olivia Patlan

Administrative Liaison: Christina Espinosa-Pieb

Guests: Rich Schroeder and Andrew LaManque

[NOTE: Item numbers are reflective of agenda numbers in the order they are actually taken up at the meeting.]

The meeting was called to order at 2:32 a quorum being present.

I.    Approval of Agenda and Notes: The agenda was approved as distributed with the renumber of item III to IIIa andthe insertion of a IIIb "Proposed Instructional Equipment Allocation.

The notes of the meeting of October 16th were approved as distributed with minor corrections.

II.   Needs and Confirmations: Chenoweth pointed to the needs and proposed confirmations attached to the draft notes of October 16th.

As per that document, Mowrey and Alex Swanner were confirmed fo service on the Weekend Library Assistant Hiring Committee. Rich Schroeder was present as Tenure Review Coordinator and after discussion which included concerns about selection process and timeliness, Bambhania and Jefferson Shirley were confirmed for the Harman Dhaliwal Tenure Review Committee and Diane Mathios ansd KJ Shi were confirmed for the Bertrand Lo Tenure Review Committee.  As a result of the discussion Hearn pledged to inform deans about Senate expectations of process when there are more candidates for service than committee positions.

IIIa. State Senate Resolutions: The group discussed three resolutions regarding the Associate's Degree.  The first called for the elimination of the "Arts" (AA) and "Science" (AS) names in favor of "Associate Degree in"  and then the name of a major.  There was some concern about some loss of identity or prestige particularly regarding the AS at some colleges.  On the other hand, the group was sensitive to confusion caused for students and the general public by the fact that there is no shared understanding and therefore no particular meaning for either title given the system as a whole or even colleges in the same area.  The officers will listen to argumentation at the session and Hearn will vote accordingly.  The second resolution called for standardizing the meaning of the AA and AS titles.  It was easily agreed that,  should the first resolution fail, Hearn will vote in favor of the second.  The third resolution, presented by the officers as being extremely important and controversial called for allowing an Associate's degree to be exclusively determined by the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) or California State University (CSU) Breadth plus electives.   While acknowledging some benefit to some students, the clear and strong opinion of the group was that it was a terrible idea perhaps most importantly because it gave away the authority and the professional judgement of community college faculty, leaving colleges as very much second class citizens to, especially, UC.

IIIb.  Proposed Instructional Equipment Allocation: After some discussion, the sense of the Senate was to have Hearn propose that the PBTs prioritize requests and leave the College Council to set amounts for Instruction and Student Services as wholes rather than going along with the initial Campus Budget proposal of a 73/27 split.

IV: Strategic Planning Initiative: Hearn read through the main descriptors of each of the four current initiatives and then directed the Senators to go to one of four tables dedicated individually to discussion of one of the initiatives.  Enthusiastic and heartfelt discussion with insightful results followed.  Hearn will provide an iteration of all the ideas to all Senators. President Murphy has announced that $100 stipends are available to part-time faculty who engage in a minimum of 4-hours of the Strategic Planning process.  The Academic Senate is proposing that it offer one or two sessions so that part-time faculty who are not able to participate in their Division's process because of scheduling conflicts can attend alternate sessions sponsored by the Academic Senate in order to have their voices heard and to fulfill their minimum hour requirement.   One of the directions given the four groups was to factor in the areas of primary Senate responsibility in establishing focus for recommendations.   The officers will analyze the results with this in mind.  There will be a follow up discussion at the meeting of October 30th.  Hearn also said that a means needed to be found to ensure both individual commitments from Senators and a follow up commitment for the office of Senate President for the 2007-2008 year.

V. Good of the Order: -  Shaffer distributed a spreadsheet showing the gross revenues of on campus book sales for each of the faculty authors at De Anza.

-  Setziol encouraged the group to become conversant with the ramifications of Proposition 90 on the November ballot and asked Jensen-Sullivan if she could say a few words toward that end at the October 30th meeting.

- Hearn announced that she electronically mailed senators a form from Susan Malgrem and from Financial Aid for students who are interested in the Recycled Computer Scholarships but who do not want to fill out a FAFSA form.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

Committees Needing Faculty

Student Services Planning and Budget Team - 1 faculty member.  Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays 2:00 - 3:00.  Contact Nancy Cole (x8989) for more information.

Finance & College Services Planning and Budget Team - 1 faculty member.  Meets 2nd Wednesdays 1:30 - 3:00.  Contact Pippa Gibson (x8936) for more information.

Campus Center Advisory Committee - 2 faculty members. Meets 3rd Monday 2:30 - 3:30.  Contact Paula Joseph (x8758) for more information.

Educational Technology Advisory Committee - 1 faculty member.  Meets 1st & 3rd Wednesdays, but will meet Nov. 1st for the first time this year.  Time is 12:30-2:00 and for first meeting in Foothill ISC Conf. Room.  Contact Pam Eberhardt for more information.

District Hardware/Software Standards Committee - 1 faculty member.  Meets one Tuesday/ month 3:30 - 4:30.

Environmental Sustainability Subcommittee - Any faculty members wishing to serve.  Meets Wednesdays in KC214 4-5pm.  Contact Laura Raffaelli for more information or to have the notes sent to you.

Catalyst Features Committee - Faculty from each division wishing to help determine what features should be added to our new learning management system.  Initially may meet several times to get started, then monthly on a Thursday at 3:00 pm

Proposed Committee Members Needing Confirmation

•   LaQuisha Beckum:  To serve on SSPBT and Campus Center Advisory Committee

Back to Top