Notes - December 4th, 2006

The De Anza Academic Senate
Approved Notes for the meeting of
December 4th , 2006
Senators and Officers present: Bambhania, Capitolo, Chenoweth, Cole, Coleman, Cordero, Dolen, Glapion, Goodwin, Hearn, Jensen-Sullivan, Joplin, Kessler, Kramer, Lathers, Lizardi-Folley, Lee-Klawender, Maynard, Mowrey , Osborne, Schaffer, Setziol, Winters, and Zill
Senators and Officers absent: Bresnan, Gallegos, Hertler, Kang, Miller, and Raffaelli,
DASB: Sam Karimzadeh and Celeste Enriquez,
Classified Senate: Olivia Patlan
Administrative Liaison: Christina Espinosa-Pieb
Guests: Judy Miner, Brian Murphy, Jeanine Hawk, Marisa Spatafore, Carolyn Wilkins-Greene, and Andrew LaManque
[NOTE: Item numbers are reflective of agenda numbers in the order they
are actually taken up at the meeting.]
The meeting was called to order at 2:36 a quorum being present.
I. Approval of Agenda and Notes: The agenda was approved as distributed.
II.  Shared Governance Processes and Policies:  Hearn began by setting a background frame of reference of questioning the place of "The Deans" and "Senior Staff" in the governance and decision making structure of the college.  In as much as those terms pertain to specific groups of people meeting on a regular basis they do not appear on the official governance chart of the college.  No further mention of "The Deans" was made.  The discussion quickly shifted to the strategic planning effort and budgeting and questions about the role of "Senior Staff" were narrowed to these contexts.  The pending meeting of December 8th about which a number of concerns had previously surfaced was characterized in this meeting as being about grouping rather than eliminating individual and group commitments.
Given groupings, a well received proposal was introduced which would gather together the people responsible for the items in each grouping.  In addition, Hearn announced that both Academic and Classified Senates were invited to establish sub committees to review the 600 odd items and the groupings identified by the meeting of the 8th.   Later it became the sense of the Senate to form such a sub committee.  Winters expressed concern that the people who did the early work of the planning were being left out.  President Murphy immediately agreed to invite them to review and comment on the body of work at this stage.  There was some concern about timelines.  Murphy acknowledged that these recent ideas regarding review and recommendation might push the time frame back as much as a couple of weeks.  Jeanine Hawk  implied that the last College Council Meeting in January would still be a deadline for action.  The rest of the time was spent separating out planning from budgeting.  In particular, Hawk and Murphy asked that the current confusion about pots of money and how much would be viewed through the lens of the planning initiative should not deter everyone from moving ahead with planning.  In other words, review and recommend in terms of grouping and priority and sort out the pots of money later.
In the midst of discussion, Murphy announced a total victory on the part of the District in the lawsuit against Measure C.  He also mentioned that De Anza's share of this year's one time money is likely to be in the neighborhood of $3.3 million.  He also said that it had never occurred to him that people would think that the $500,000 earmarked initially for the strategic initiative work would be the total finally allocated for that purpose but understood completely how people might have gotten that impression and, therefore, the impression that there were two distinct one time money budget discussions.
Back to Item I: The notes of the meeting of November 27th were approved as distributed correcting the title of Item III to indicate the real name of the Vice Chancellor of Technology, Fred Sherman.
III. Needs and Confirmations: Chenoweth asked for and received confirmation of Maynard and Vladimir Logvinenko for service on the Library Advisory Sub Committee
IV.   Academic Senate's Strategic Planning Commitment:   The group returned to a discussion of the primary proposal made by the officers at the November 27th meeting focusing on what got called discipline or group of disciplines advising and coordination with services promoting student success.   The role and potential role of counseling and individual counselors was considered.  Generally speaking, more promise than problem surfaced in the various ideas present.       
Hearn interjected her plan not to oppose the Central Services proposal for its share of the one time money going to the December 4th Board meeting.  She told the group of three broad categories identified by Central Services and said she would pursue discussion on a larger scale of the increasing percentage of the District budget going to Central Services.
V.  Good of the Order: - A 9:30 to 11:00 a.m. December 6th get together in honor of Jim McCarthy was announced as taking place in the library
-   Mowrey was announced to be the interim director of library services
-   Setziol announced that he had received one of the twelve reviews of this year's Courses Into Discliplines/FGAs report and asked for the others before the end of the term.
-   Setziol also mentioned that students report coming to what they thought would be a first class meeting and finding only a  sign saying the class had been canceled and no person present to present alternatives for them.
-  A Town Hall meeting was announced for December 11th from 1:30 to 2:30 in Forum 4 to report the groupings of strategic initiative commitments accomplished December 8th.
- Hearn ended the item by telling the group that she would be sending out a call for sub committee volunteers.
The meeting was adjourned at 4:40
Proposed Committee Members Needing Confirmation
Library Advisory Subcommittee
•     Tom Dolen, Librarian
Hiring Committee for MLT/HTEC faculty position:
•     Jean Burke, IA, Nursing Department
•     Judith Clavijo, Chair, Nursing Department
•     Sherri Cozzens, Faculty, Nursing Department
•     Pat Hassel, Program Coordinator, Faculty HTEC Department
•     Beth McPartlan, Faculty, Biology Department
•     Patti O'Neal (on PDL winter 07) Faculty, Nursing and HTEC Departments        
•     Marge Sainten, Laboratory Technician, Nursing and HTEC Departments
•     Doris Spanggord, Chair, Biology Department and previous Director, MLT Program
•      Stephanie Sherman, Dean/Committee Chair
Hiring Committee for classified IA Nursing Skills Laboratory position:
(Note: this is the same committee we approved last week for Allied health and Nursing Specialist)
•     Judith Clavijo,Dept. Chair - Nursing
•     Sherri Cozzens, Nursing
•     Catherine Hrycyk, Nursing
• Pat Quarato, Biology

Back to Top