Notes - October 29th, 2007

The De Anza Academic Senate

Approved Notes for the meeting of

October 29th, 2007

Senators and Officers present:, Bambhania, Beggs, Chenoweth, Coleman, Glapion, Goodwin, Hughes, Kessler, Kramer, Lathers Lee-Klawender, Maynard, Miller, Mitchell, Ng Lee, Paicius, Schaffer, Setziol, Shively, Walton, and White

Senators and Officers absent: Argyriou, Cole, Dolen, Gallegos, Hanna, LaManque, and Winters

Classified Senate:
Administrative Liaison:
Guests: Brian Murphy, Nancy Ragey, Amy Gerstein, and Judy Miner
Curriculum Co Chair:

[NOTE: Item numbers are reflective of agenda numbers in the order they are actually taken up at the meeting.]

Joint Meeting with the Foothill Academic Senate

The meeting was called to order at2:30 a quorum being present.

There was no approval of the agenda.

I. Welcome and State Information: Illowsky began the meeting welcoming those in attendance, introducing the agenda, and then initiating a round of self introductions.

Presidents’ Comments: Brian Murphy welcomed especially faculty colleagues from the North.

II. Teaching and Learning Project: Nancy Ragey and Amy Gerstein were introduced as the consultants for this initially two part project. They presented the results of a survey on Professional Development taken by new full time faculty at De Anza and Foothill. A printed version of a projected presentation used by Nancy and Amy was distributed. A variety of topics were covered by the survey. The two will return with the Chancellor at a later date to discuss further implementation of the study’s recommendations.

III. Plenary Session Resolutions: The group assembled attempted discussion of resolutions headed for statewide Senate vote November 3rd. After some dispute regarding a shared understanding of the District vote, the joint senates discussed and agreed to support resolutions 4.01 and 4.02 (regarding expansion of high school concurrent enrollment possibilities) as well as 13.02 (transition of faculty to administration).

De Anza Academic Senate Meeting

The meeting began at 4:04

I. Approval of Agenda and Notes:

The notes were approved as distributed.

President Murphy returns: Murphy came to say that he had discussed faculty names for vice president searches with the officers but, since that discussion was very recent, had been unable to reach faculty identified to find out about their willingness to serve. He said he would return November 5th. After Murphy left, several Senators expressed discomfort with the prospects of being asked to confirm a list without other having the opportunity to volunteer. Setziol explained that, in the case of administrative hires, the responsible administrator is to submit a list of names for Senate consideration and that the officers in these and other cases sometimes discuss potential committee composition and come to agreement on a specific slate of faculty for a particular committee. Goodwin reminded the officers that Murphy had previously stated his intention to have a part time faculty member on the Vice President of Instruction committee. She hoped that as a principle would carry over to the Student Services position as well.

II. Needs and Confirmations: Chenoweth will represent the faculty on the Educational Information Systems Steering Committee. Mia Tipton, Chris Kwak, and Mike Gough were confirmed for service on the Accounting Faculty Search and Selection Committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:34.

Back to Top