2017-18 Academic Year

From national awards to international achievements, here are just some examples of what makes De Anza College "simply the best."

Anisa Chaudhry Selected as Graduation Speaker

Anisa Fatima Chaudhry, winner of the A. Robert DeHart Memorial Scholarship, was selected as the keynote speaker for De Anza's 2018 commencement ceremony. 

Anisa ChaudhryChaudhry, 20, is graduating this year with an associate degree in Liberal Arts and a certificate in Leadership and Social Change, before transferring to the University of California, Berkeley, in the fall. 

In her two years at De Anza, Chaudhry has become a prominent student leader. She was president of the Muslim Students Association, served on the DASB Senate, helped organize the Student Voices United for Change conference and has spoken at campus events about equity and civil rights.

In addition, four students were selected this year for the annual President's Awards

The winner of this year's Karl S. Pister Leadership Opportunity Award is Elias Kamal.

Honors for Matt Trosper

TrosperMatt Trosper, who has been De Anza’s athletics academic coordinator for 27 years, was recognized with an award from a statewide professional group, the Community College Counselors/Advisors Academic Association for Athletics (3C4A).

The award is given each year to highlight “outstanding efforts in promoting success for student athletes.”

Trosper has long been involved in governance committees and was vice president of the Association of Classified Employees (ACE). He’s also been an assistant softball coach and was Assistant Athletic Director from 2009-2012. 

League for Innovation Excellence Awards

The League for Innovation in the Community College will present its annual Excellence Awards next month to three members of the De Anza community

  • Anu Khanna, a veteran Intercultural Studies instructor who has been active in campus governance, learning communities and other projects
  • Lisa Mandy, who has led new approaches to better serve students as director of Financial Aid and Scholarships
  • Mallory Newell, supervisor of Institutional Research and Planning, who coordinated a campuswide effort that led to the reaffirmation of De Anza’s accreditation

This year’s John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards will be formally presented at the organization's annual Innovations Conference. The awards are given for outstanding contributions in teaching, leadership and service.




Lisa Mandy

Mallory Newell

Anu Khanna

Back to Top